We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Lodge to your Saves list
Stage Coach Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special: $5 Off Room Rate
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The location is very good ... right off the highway, nestled next to a quiet neighborhood full of flowers which you'll walk through to get to a nice, large park & Fisherman's Wharf (maybe a 10-minute walk?). The owners were very friendly and helpful. They gave us good recommendations (and discounts) for local restaurants. The wife went over and beyond the call-of-duty when she noticed one of my children's sunburned faces and quickly cut a large stalk of aloe from her garden for us to use to help alleviate the burn for the rest of our travels. So thoughtful! The rooms were just fine. The front lobby was under reconstruction but that didn't affect check-in/out. No pool to speak of but this does not matter with all the great amenities nearby. The small property is nicely landscaped with pretty bougainvilleas, other flowers. My kids loved eating the packaged muffins/danishes. I gravitated to the bananas and apples at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    247
    73
    21
    13
See reviews for
135
299
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
194 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

the motel is ok, no frills, for a good night sleep, period. clean place.....wierd location, kinda hard to find.

Room Tip: ok place...average
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pleasant hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean and quiet but simple. No frills or extras very basic. Good for the price and location. Not too far from the wharf but not exactly walking distance. Did not stay for breakfast since was not offered until after 8 am and we started out on our road trip early at 7 am.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
190 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

On the last night of our two week road trip, this lodge proved a comfortable and relaxing choice. The lodge is a 20 minute walk from the sea front, which suited us fine. The staff we encountered (I think one being an owner) were genuinely friendly and obviously keen to make our stay comfortable and give a good impression of the place.

Our room was quite large for a hotel of this type and had obviously been recently refurbished and was very clean and well organised. My only disappointment (hence the four stars) was that the small swimming pool was not available, but I understand this is a temporary situation due to the ongoing refurbishment.

We didn't have time to take the complimentary breakfast (much to the disappointment of the staff!) - once the new reception and breakfast area are completed, I'm sure this place will be even better. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ont.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed only one night on our way travelling down the west coast. The lodge was under renovations, but the bougainvillaeas were beautiful and staff friendly. Good location close to Fisherman's Wharf where we enjoyed our meal at Gilberts restaurant. Driving directions were a little confusing - it is a very tight (immediate) right turn from Camino Aguajito to 10th Street. Good value for money and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Hazel42:

Thank you so much for your positive review. We greatly appreciate your business and honest feedback about our property. We have for the most part completed our renovations and the place is looking great. Our pool is open and brand new and very inviting. The whole hotel has been repainted, our landscaping is really starting to bloom, and our brand new lobby and breakfast area will be open very soon.

We really look forward to hosting you again now that our hotel's finishing touches are nearly done, we are confident that you'll have one of the nicest boutique lodges to stay at while visiting Monterey. Send your friends and family and spread the good word!

Thank You,
Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed our first night in Monterey at another hotel. (dirty) so we were very happy to read the reviews on the Stage Coach Lodge. That's right, Clean. We were very relaxed. If I had it to do all over again I would go straight to the Stage Coach Lodge. Nothing fancy but Mrs. Owner was really nice.(didn't see Mr. Owner)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time in letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will let our staff know that they are being appreciated for their hard work. Our Swimming Pool is completed and the property has a new freshly painted exterior and the bougainvillaeas are blooming. Hope you visit us again real soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
207 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

After a long drive to Monterey, this is a quiet place to stay for the night. Located walking distance from the Fisherman's Wharf, we had a nice dinner. Quiet location. The room is simple and clean. Breakfast is self service and consists of Danish, coffee, juice, fruit and cake.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for your positive feedback on our property. We are continuously making upgrades to our
establishment. We have just finished the swimming pool. We take great pride in our property
and what our guests needs our. So we greatly appreciate your time in letting us know.
Hope you come stay with us again real soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#5 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.