We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, comfort and amenities for a budget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Lodge to your Saves list
Stage Coach Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special: $5 Off Room Rate
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, comfort and amenities for a budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I was very impressed with the comfort and amenities of the room. They were comparable to a 4 star hotel for a budget price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    186
    60
    14
    12
See reviews for
104
232
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We've been to Monterey a number of times and I know how expensive hotels here can be. So we chose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews.

The property is located just off CA 1, in a residential area, so it's quiet. Renovations were underway during our stay but during the one night we were there only the office entrance was affected.

The room featured a CRT-style flat screen TV, waist high refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and a safe in the clothes closet. There's also a laundry room.

Breakfast is "take out" since there is no sitting area. There was OJ and regular (only) coffee, croissants, muffin slices and packaged danish.

As others noted, the owner is very helpful. We had no issues with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

A simple, clean motor hotel. Owner is very nice and helpful. It is a little bit of a drive to the attractions of Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row, but you could walk in about 20-30 minutes if you want to stretch your legs (it is closer to Fisherman's Wharf than to Cannery Row).

Fairly large room, very firm beds, TV with basic cable (as far as I could tell - I didn't spend much time trying to find other stations). Small pool out front. No restaurant. Parking right in front of the rooms. On a quiet street, a little tricky to turn on to.

Fridge, microwave and coffee in room. The front desk sells Monterey Bay Aquarium passes - 2 consecutive days entry for the price of a one-day ticket.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My daughter and I spent six nights here on a vacation in Monterey during October. We liked the location with easy access to the highway and free parking. We enjoyed the walk through a lovely residential neighbourhood to the coastal trail. The rooms had been newly renovation and were very clean. The only disappointment was the continental breakfast. However that was not a problem because we had a bar fridge, microwave and coffee maker so we visited the local Whole Food Store and made our own breakfasts. We also appreciated the helpful advise and restaurant coupons.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wegotyoucovered, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience at our property.
We are currently renovating our office to make more room for a bigger breakfast
area for your future convenience. We are also renovating our exterior with a new patio
area for outdoor seating in the summer. Hope you come visit us real soon and get
to see the new changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I saw the Manager/Owner pocket the tip I left on the dresser. Fortunately I had not left much because the day before I had given each of the two housekeepers a bigger tip in person


The hotel is ok - kinda old fashioned but clean enough.The blanket and quilt are old, even though I was told when I was sold on the upgrade to the king suite/room that everything was new! The bed is comfortable enough. I believe the mattress was dated 2004. I know it was at least 6 years old. I removed the plastic lined zip off mattress cover because I can't sleep on any type of plastic.

The carpet is dirty regardless of the Manager/Owner saying it is the type of pile on the carpet that makes it look that way. There were numerous stains. The air conditioning works well. It is reasonably convenient to downtown a good 20 min. walk.

Forget the complimentary pastry is it synthetic food in plastic better to eat white bread and margarine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wegotyoucovered, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for posting your review, your comments are important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to give them to us. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay at our Inn. Our policy is that any tips that are left in a guest room are collected and are given directly to the housekeeper who is responsible for servicing that room and we assure you that is what is done in all cases. Last year we did major renovations to our guest rooms and bathrooms including complete new bathrooms, vanity areas and amenity service areas, carpeting was replaced and most of the bedding was also replaced. We do still have an ongoing renovation project proceeding including new furnitures, new lobby and breakfast room and major exterior work which will be done around the Portechere. Some of the bedding is also yet to be replaced as well. That work should be completed over the next few months. Your comments are taken seriously and are used to evaluate our product and services and provide for future upgrades and additional training of our staff as needed. Again we appreciate your comments and hope you will come back and allow us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great staff, good locations, remodeled rooms do look nice, especially the bathrooms. 1-2 miles from everything. Clean.

We first had 2 doubles even though we booked 1 queen. They gave us the queen room, but it smelled too strongly of bad cleaner, so we opted to go back to the 2 doubles. Worst beds/pillows ever. We didn't sleep. Literally could feel the springs.

Decent price in a high cost area, but only a semi-decent hotel. Wouldn't stay again unless the beds are replaced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wegotyoucovered, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the beds. We do replace beds as necessary on a ongoing basis. We are in the process of replacing all furniture and replacing all new TV's with Flat Screens. We are in the midst of major exterior renovations as well. So please give
us another opportunity to serve you again in the future with greater improvements.
Your opinions matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. We were in town for a medical conference my husband was attending at one of the hotels. And while we could have stayed at that hotel, I couldn't bring myself to pay $250 a night for 5 nights. This place cost about a third of what it would have cost to have stayed at the conference hotel.

It was clean and well kept. It appears to have been recently remodeled. Nothing really fancy about it. The beds weren't very comfortable - but I have a bad back and may be more particular than the next person. The sheets and the blanket where short. They weren't long enough to pull up around my shoulders without them coming untucked from the bottom of the bed.The heating/cooling system is really loud. I didn't think much of it during the day, but at night it was startling and bothersome.

We never stopped for the breakfast so I can't really say anything about it. The housekeeping seemed to have paid attention to when we came and went - they never tried to clean while we were there, which was nice. They did a great job cleaning the room each day.

Our showers were never really hot. More like lukewarm. I never did take the time to talk to the management about it, though. Shower pressure was really good.

One could easily walk to the beach from this motel. I would guess it's about a half a mile away. And maybe another half a mile or so to the Fisherman's Wharf. One day we parked over by the Wharf and walked over to Cannery Row. It's probably about 2 miles from the motel. And while I would have loved walking from the motel, my kids wouldn't have.

Overall, good value for the money. Would stay again if needed to.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the stairs. The room we were in - 205 I believe, was right next to the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wegotyoucovered, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for your input. We like to see what our guests needs are for future improvements.
We are in the process of ordering new furniture and flat screen televisions. We are also
doing major exterior renovations and landscaping. We hope you visit us again real soon.
Please ask about our special suites and deluxe rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.