We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the historic adobe and love the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant 1833

Restaurant 1833
500 Hartnell St, Monterey, CA 93940-2802
831-643-1833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant 1833 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 261 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Polk Street
san francisco
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Go for the historic adobe and love the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great building and a fine meal. 1833 is located in an historic adobe in Monterey - the library is a great place to lounge and the bar and outside seating are a rare treat. We tried the following:
Deviled eggs - ok not the best I ever had
Halibut - sensational
Biscuits - very nice
Dessert - right on

Cocktails and wines were very good. Definitely heading back next time I'm in Monterey.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    59
    28
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great bar with awesome small plates menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Full bar, with many choices, particularly for hard liquor (including absinthe) and cocktails. Pineapple cocktail is delish! Small plates work perfectly with the drinks. Deviled eggs are hands-down the best deviled eggs I've ever had. Sour cream and onion biscuits are great. Chicken liver pate very good but underwhelming compared to the other dishes. Can get a bit crowded and noisy, but we were seated right away on a busy Friday night. Great service. The place is a former private house and still has the atmosphere of "being at someone's house". Great place, all in all. Valet parking.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really nice place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

its in an old house. you may be sitting in a bedroom or the front room. I sat at the top of the stairs. You can make a meal off the appetizers. The shrimp appy was one of THE best things I've ever had. I can't think of the exact name of it. Then the bacon cheddar biscuits were also reeeally good. Had the Rock Cod for dinner. It was really good but I liked the appys better. After dinner they have fire pits you can sit outside next to and have a drink. I will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely But Not Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The atmosphere of this restaurant is amazing. Steeped in history, the historic location has been only enhanced with a beautiful design and other details. The menu is perfect "bistro" with some dishes a great success and others just "good". The bacon cheddar biscuits with a maple chile butter were mind boggling while the pork loin a bit tough and bland. The main disappointment was the service. We waited over 40 minutes (I am not exaggerating) between salads and entrees, even finishing our bottle of wine before they came. Even worse, the waiter never came by to let us know of the status. So, the meal bargain high with the ambiance and appetizers, then ever so so slowly went downhill from there. It could have been perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best table in the house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We loved our dinner at 1833. We had the best table in the house. Food and service was excellent. We would definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1833 also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Restaurant 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant 1833, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.