We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Travelodge Monterey Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was very good night in this hotel. The break fast was good and the shower was good. Have a pool that. Open very nice plaice. The staff was very nice to us. Have near to hotel many restaurant that can eat there , we eat in Italiano cosina very good food and the staff very nice.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Travelodge Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are always working to improve our service and quality, and your comments are much appreciated. We want our customers to be happy with their stay, and it is good to hear that you were happy with yours. Please do not hesitate to call us for any of your future lodging needs. It will be our pleasure having you. Thank you for choosing the Monterey Bay Travelodge!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    183
    145
    70
    52
See reviews for
211
144
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

After a three week road trip around the canyon lands and California and staying at numerous hotels of different standards this hotel turned out to be the worst but the most expensive during our trip!! We paid through an agent £357 for one night for 4 people! Previously we had stayed at the mgm grand in Las Vegas for £70 a night for 4 people!! We arrived late after driving 4 hours from Yosemite. The staff were friendly, outside was very run down and dated! Checked in in reception to find a couple complaining about the chlorine smell of their room. Got to our room, which was away from the main block right out the back on the second floor with no loft access. The stairs and walkways had paint peeling off and felt unstable. The room was dated with chipped furniture and peeling wallpaper and worn carpet. The beds were covered in nylon throws out of the 70s ! Complete with pulled threads and cigarette burn holes in them. Although the beds were comfortable we felt we couldn't touch the bedlinen - luckily the sheets were clean! Amongst this the smell of chlorine was overpowering and we weren't even near the pool! We couldn't wait to leave in the morning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeMonterey, General Manager at Travelodge Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I would like to personally apologize that your room and our property did not meet your standards. It is our goal to provide each customer with an exceptional experience, and I apologize you did not feel this was provided to you. I absolutely value your feedback, and you can be sure I will follow up with every one of your concerns. We are going through some major updates, so I hope you will give us a chance to show you our dedication to your comfort. Please accept my sincerest apologizes.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night before whale watching in Monterey bay. Staff were super helpful and friendly .room was large with king size bed and plenty space. Breakfast was included and was okay considering we paid a bargain $49 for the room, including breakfast,parking and wifi, some of which had been extras at previous hotels in California . All in all a bargain and cannot praise the lady on the front desk enough on arrival for her local advice and knowledge and the manager at check out , again friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Travelodge Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words of our property! It is always nice to hear that our customers enjoyed their stay, and it's even nicer when they share it with other travelers! It makes us feel that we were able to provide you with the best possible experience. I am pleased to hear that my staff was able to assist you during your stay. In the future, should you need any assistance with lodging, we hope you will give us a call! Thank you for choosing the Monterey Bay Travelodge!

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First of all, for the price... you can't beat it! Room was very clean and comfortable, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The pool is a really good size and it's heated. My boyfriend and I went down together so it was great to have a lot of places to sight see so close. It was also a plus to have a good variety for the continental breakfast. Overall it was a great experience and I know where to come back next time we come down!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeMonterey, General Manager at Travelodge Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am so happy that my staff was able to provide you with an enjoyable experience during your stay with us. We welcome any comments that may help us improve our performance or facilities in any way. We are a property that values quality, and we hope we provided you with quality you deserve. Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I live in Santa Clara and love visiting Monterey. In a recent trip to Monterey I found this place and loved it! For the price, this is hands down the nicest motel in the area. The rooms are spacious and clean, the continental breakfast has a great variety, the staff was very professional and friendly and my kids loved the heated pool. It is also very conveniently located close to Fisherman's Wharf and if you’re ever in town for the state fair the fairgrounds are directly behind the motel. I will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for Daisy, very friendly and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeMonterey, General Manager at Travelodge Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are very important to us as we are always trying to improve the quality of our hotel. I hope that future guests will enjoy their stay with us as much as you did. It brings us great pleasure to hear you may visit us again in the future! Please do not hesitate to call us if we can help you with any of your lodging needs. Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for choosing the Monterey Bay Travelodge!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

All the staff was very friendly and courteous. The rooms were nice and neat. The continental breakfast was super clutch after being on the road all night and the price was excellent. Would recommend anybody looking for a place to stay in the area to stay here. Its the best bang for your buck!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeMonterey, General Manager at Travelodge Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback of our hotel! It brings us great pleasure hearing you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad to hear my staff provided you with the service you deserve. It is always nice to hear the things we do well to make sure we take those same steps to provide future customers with a great experience as well. We are going through some updates that will bring up the quality of our hotel even more. So please visit us again soon! Thank you for choosing the Monterey Bay Travelodge.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Front desk superb, room clean, good water pressure, comfy beds, decent continental breakfast.... room needed some cosmetic work...i.e. picture missing from wall, sliding screen door needs repair. It was perfect for a weekend stay, especially at the price. Overhead plane noise not bad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeMonterey, General Manager at Travelodge Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your feedback is very important to us as we are always trying to improve our property. We ARE in the process of going through a major renovation, and I think you will appreciated the changes! Please let us know what other changes you would like to see. We sincerely appreciate your input and take your concerns seriously. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you again for your feedback, and thank you for choosing the Monterey Bay Travelodge!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Monterey Bay

Address: 2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the sun at our Monterey Bay Travelodge hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our hotel in Monterey, CA is just five minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and Pebble Beach, and only two miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Get an early morning boost with free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Before you head out for the day, enjoy a workout in our fitness center, check your email with free high-speed Internet access or prepare meals using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. After a long day of sightseeing, go for a swim in our heated seasonal outdoor pool from May to November, and doze off on your pillow-top mattress. Our pet-friendly hotel offers express checkout, guest laundry services, 24-hour front desk service and ample parking for oversized vehicles. Balcony rooms and rooms with views of the pool and courtyard are available at our hotel in Monterey, CA. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Immerse yourself in the rich heritage on the Path of History tour, where you can walk through adobe homes. Peek into one of the largest aquarium windows in the world at Monterey Bay Aquarium, and explore the underwater world of penguins, white sharks and sea otters. Browse a unique array of stores, sail through the harbor and go on a whale watching cruise at nearby Fisherman's Wharf. Enjoy fresh seafood with a scenic view at one of the many waterfront restaurants. Spend an afternoon on the greens at Pebble Beach Golf Links, or visit Point Sur Lighthouse, which stands atop a volcanic rock. DINING OPTIONS Sit back and relax with a plate of fresh sushi at Oh! Sushi Japanese Restaurant, located on-site. Enjoy tasty dishes at Chef Lee's Mandarin House, next door to our hotel in Monterey, CA. Take your family for a hearty, homecooked meal at Rosine's Restaurant, just one mile away. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our Monterey, California, hotel offers a business center with fax and copy services. Meeting and banquet space are also available. HOTEL INFORMATION We allow one free parking space per occupied room for special events. Please ask our staff for details on additional parking fees for special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Travel Lodge Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.