We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time warp to the 80's” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Travelodge Monterey Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #42 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Time warp to the 80's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Getting to the room of this hotel is like getting into a nightmare to the 80's. There is no A/c (climate control). The weather was around 60 degrees, however, we had to open the glass door to get fresh air in. The cigarrette smell from people outside came into the room and also all the noise. The table where we place the computer almost fall apart, it was all loose. The wall paper in the bathroom is dirty There is no facilities to plug the cellulars and the cameras. We had to unplug lamps and even the fridge to get our cel's and camera plugged. They gave us a pool view, but the pool had no water in it.

Travelodge, get your act together, please!!!!

Room Tip: There are more hotels down the same street. Try other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    160
    131
    64
    50
See reviews for
181
132
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Very good service. Room big and clean.Thanks for the warm welcome we received!! There was enough parking available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

great customer service, excellent location, clean, friendly atmsophere, and the you cant beat the value, it is a seasonal hotel pool, you can always just make a phone call for current updates. Well worth the $$. A little courtesy goes along way on the penninsula.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Very dissatisfied!! The room was semi clean with a very strong chemical smell. There were white drip marks on two walls and on the side of the fabric chairs. I don't know what it was! My husband could not even slide the window open to get fresh air because the tracks were dirty. The drain in the shower did not drain well at all......the tub filled up with five inches of water when I showered. There was loud music with heavy bass played until 11:30pm from the rear of the hotel. The airplanes fly right over the hotel....they were very loud! We had to turn the fridge on when we got there and it whistled all night! The pool was out of order! I was not impressed with the continental breakfast, so we passed . We had originally reserved two nights, but we didn't want to stay another night, so we lost our money on the second night and changed hotels!!

Room Tip: Read all the reviews and pay a little more to get better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We arrived on a rainy afternoon (Sigh) but our check in was brightened up by Erika in reception. She had a distinct warmth about her that is very welcoming after a long drive. The room was huge for us being London residents with very comfy beds, a safe with a light and airy ambience. But the best and truly unforgettable dining experience was from the Oh! Sushi restaurant located within the premises. The servings were huge and served by authentic Japanese chefs but still very good value for money. I highly recommend this hotel as it has ticked all the boxes for value, location and friendliness of staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have heavy luggage as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed two nights to go to the aquarium. Was prepared after reading the reviews. Good location right off freeway. Reserved double beds non-smoking. Checked in and noticed our room was used for smoking with the last guest. They changed our room right away. It was clean and roomy. Nothing fancy, but did the job for a couple of nights. The location of the room made us feel safe with it located on the back side of the hotel. Staff very friendly.
Couple of corks. We agree with the water pressure. Not enough. More than 2 people in your party be careful with how much hot water you will get. Did not realize the hotel is a flight path for air planes taking off. Did not last all night, only a couple of hours. Continental breakfast, is very basic with dry ceral, bagels and muffins. Works for the budget travler.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel is quieter, away from street and felt safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

here is a list: no hot water!
airport near by - planes fly over
towels are very thin.
the continental breakfast - skip it not worth it. plus you have someone looking over your shoulder.

Pay a little more if anything for a hot shower.

Room Tip: pay a little more and try and stay close to downtown monterey. There are plenty of hotels near there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Monterey Bay

Address: 2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Travel Lodge Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.