We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Monterey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to stay in Monterey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed at Hotel Abrego in the past, and it is one of my favorite places to stay in Monterey. The premiere fireplace rooms are outstanding and the location is so convenient. The place is clean and quiet even though it's on a fairly busy street. The staff is friendly and helpful. I recommend it to others when I know they are going to Monterey.

Room Tip: Premier fireplace rooms in the main building or in building #2 are my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    473
    159
    55
    23
See reviews for
382
675
59
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Hotel Abrego while in Monterey. The location is ideal for walking around downtown and you can even walk to Cannery Row with a little effort. There are a number of restaurants close by and the Hotel has a simple but nice on-site bar and restaurant. We dined in on our last night and were pleasantly surprised by the fare and service. The staff was well trained and very accommodating.

Our rooms was on the top floor of the main building and had a fireplace for those cold and damp Carmel/Monterey evenings. The room was well appointed and very clean. The bathroom was a nice size and had a beautiful shower with glass enclosure. The windows opened for great ventilation and there was very little noise.

When you consider the cost and value of this hotel--you will not stay anywhere else! Who could resist a beautiful hotel in a great location at a reasonable price? You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at Hotel Abrego from Dec 19-23, 2014 for a pre-Christmas get-away in Monterey. We like the short walk to good coffee places, to the organic breakfast cafe The Wild Plum, and to the Wharf and the Monterey Coastal Trail, which overlooks the rocky shoreline for the 3 miles to Lover's Point in Pacific Grove. We also enjoy cycling the 17-mile Drive and Carmel Valley Road. The rooms are spacious, the bed linens good quality, and they stock the New York Times in the hotel reception area.
Hotel Abrego is our favorite place to stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When looking for an establishment we prefer clean and cozy. This hotel has all of this plus the staff if friendly and courteous. Although we thought the hotel was new due to the modern decor, we are told it's been recently remodeled. Out room was a patio where we can see the ocean in the distance. It also has a large tv, fireplace and spacious bathroom. We would bring the family again. Good value!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was upgraded to a deluxe king suite overlooking the pool. I like the fireplace but am not thrilled that I do not have ac. The space is comfortable enough and clean though a bit dated. I most like that it located near Cannery Row and the mall down the street.

Room Tip: ask for air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent the weekend here December 19 thru 21st. Staff are very friendly and attentive, especially Carmen, Ernie and Anna. The location is good. Short drive to Fisherman's Wharf & Cannery Row, Monterey Bay Aquarium and accessible to Hwy.1 Weather permitting, you could walk or bike to to the Wharf area. Unfortunately, weather was not cooperative during my stay. Try the Bistro omelet for breakfast and the Amaretto Creme Brulee for dessert after dinner.

If you're considering visiting the Monterey area, the Hotel Abrego should be on your short list. It will be on mine.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 night and the place was a great find for the money. Good amount of space and good service. Would stay here again if in the area. Spent the days golfing and the night at restraunts that were 10 to 15 dollar cab rides away

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear LeeJay S
Thank you for your nice comments, we are super excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will consider coming back again when your travels take you to Monterey.

Sincerely,
Lars Stokkebye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.