We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A flying visit... ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A flying visit... ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for one night as part of our California road trip. We found the staff extremely friendly on check-in, giving advice on where to go for dinner in Carmel that the evening and also recommending the 17 mile drive which was well worth it.

We found the room to be clean and spacious. The bed comfortable and the Wi-Fi reliable.

It's a shame we had to leave early in the morning as we did not get the opportunity to try any of the hotels facilities or breakfast.

A flying visit, but I would still thoroughly recommend the hotel, it was one of the nicest we stayed in during our visit to California.

The staff also recommended some great places to eat on the Big Sur as we continued our road trip. These were also very good recommendations!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Matt Q,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. I am pleased that our staff was able to acomodate you and give great directions. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer on your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    487
    164
    57
    26
See reviews for
397
701
61
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights on our California road trip. Wow great rooms, clean, spacious and extremely friendly helpful staff. The breakfasts were great the waiting staff were lovely and friendly to us non local brits. We cant wait to stay again on our next Californian visit.

Room Tip: Room facing away from carpark view was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night after doing the 17 mile drive in Carmel. Everything was great. The room was spacious and tasteful and although there was no elevator, the hotel did give us help to carry our luggage one floor up. Most hotels in the area do not have air conditioning - the day that we were there, it was quite humid, so that hotel gladly provided a fan which was adequate for a few hours, while it got cooler outside. The hotel is near the Cannery row and Fishermans wharf so we went for a stroll and dinner on Cannery Row, which we thought was a cute little area.

Recommend this hotel for sure !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Amirali10,
Thank you for your great comments, we value all feedback. We hope to see at Hotel Abrego next time you are in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here whilst on a roadtrip and were originally being booked into a boutique B&B in Carmel; as they didnt get back to our travel agent we reviewed other options and chose to stay here.

The hotel comprises a main building and a separate motel-like building. Big plus is the free parking (with ample parking spaces) and proximity to key sights and historical area - its just 10-15 mins walking distance. Great for us as we walk everywhere at home, and it was a relief for my husband not to have to drive out again for dinner.

I concur with other reviewers. We came with heavy suitcases so would not have enjoyed lugging them up and down stairs had we been in the "motel" section ...which is where our room had been allocated. I also prefer to have a cooler room so air con is must!

I rang ahead after reading the reviews here and subsequently secured room 1201 in the main building, which was accessible by elevator. It was bright and spacious with air con (essential it was a bit stuffy inside and as the room faces traffic on two sides it would not have been practical to open the windows - and that said I have to add we were not disturbed by the traffic, and though I wouldn't say the walls here were thin, we did keep hearing thud noises from the room above, like someone was throwing heavy things onto the floor).

We didn't use the pool or eat at the hotel - to be frank there is a lot more to choose from out and around.

On one night we hit the main Wharf, tried out 3 of the chowders on offer, and chose our restaurant based on that (we went to Crab Louie - not the Ritz but honest, fresh flavoursome seafood and fish). The next night we hit a gem of a Mexican restaurant called Turtle Bay Taqueria. For breakfast we simply picked up some pastries from the many cafes.and bakeries around, and made ourselves some coffee with the coffeemaker provided.

We had a very comfortable nights sleep and the bed was luxurious. Plenty of sitting space and the shower was amazing!

All on all you will enjoy your stay here, and its a better place to stay to cover the whole of the Peninsula including Pacific Grove (idea: don't bother paying for the 17 mile beach drive; take 68 to Pacific Grove - stopping at the Safeway to pick up hot or cold food - then foĺow the 68 towards Asilomar coast where there.are plenty of points for you to stop for a picnic; the go in to Pinos Point Lighthouse and on to Cannery Row. This will make for quite an enjoyable morning/afternoon.) And of course a drive into Carmel where you should include a stop at Carmelo Borromeo.

Just be sure of what you will need from your room and call ahead with sufficient notice to get it sorted out with the staff who are quite helpful.





Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear cookie187,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your recent visit. we hope you will consider Hotel Abrego next time you are visiting california.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Easily accessible from Highway 1 for those driving the coastal road. Our room was very spacious with everything needed. The hotel has a small pool and gym. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast (paid) was very reasonable and large portions. Fisherman's Wharf is just a 10 minute stroll or you can get the free wave trolley across the road at the Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Tracy H,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the positive feedback. Please come visit again next time you are in Monterey, Ca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our first visit to the hotel, and it won't be our last. The Location places guest within walking distance to most points of interest in Monterey. The room was spacious with a huge bathroom. We have stayed at several hotels in the Monterey/Carmel area and feel this is without a doubt the best value we have found. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Houseboy7,
Thank you for your great review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your expectations were met.
We hope you will visit Hotel Abrego next time you are in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel was in a great location.
The rooms were clean and well decorated. the bathroom was pleasant and spacious.
Beds were comfy.
Had a late swim in the swimming pool which also was great fun.
The staff was helpful and kind.
Very recommended!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and the room was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Limor L,
Thank you for your great comments, there is nothing that pleases us more than a satisfied guest. We hope you will visit Hotel Abrego again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.