We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Spotless Room in a Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 15% off
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Castro Valley, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Large Spotless Room in a Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our first visit to the hotel, and it won't be our last. The Location places guest within walking distance to most points of interest in Monterey. The room was spacious with a huge bathroom. We have stayed at several hotels in the Monterey/Carmel area and feel this is without a doubt the best value we have found. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Houseboy7,
Thank you for your great review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your expectations were met.
We hope you will visit Hotel Abrego next time you are in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    445
    153
    49
    23
See reviews for
374
636
56
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel was in a great location.
The rooms were clean and well decorated. the bathroom was pleasant and spacious.
Beds were comfy.
Had a late swim in the swimming pool which also was great fun.
The staff was helpful and kind.
Very recommended!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and the room was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Limor L,
Thank you for your great comments, there is nothing that pleases us more than a satisfied guest. We hope you will visit Hotel Abrego again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We just stayed for one night when travelling vom Los Angeles to San Francisco. The room was very nice. In my opinion the breakfast is a bit overpriced. Good location is good. Walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf about 10 minutes

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Beautiful property and nice rooms, friendly staff, pool, hot tub. Only thing that really was a disappointment was no AC and the room was warm enough to making sleeping difficult. I see some review say you can request ac , but when we asked after check in, they said they didn't have any ac. Maybe that just ment no rooms with ac were available, not sure. Location is good, not great. Easy 1 mile walk to fisherman's wharf, another easy mile to cannery row. Or about $15 can ride to cannery row. There's also s free shuttle that goes from 10-7, closest pick up is about 1/2 mile walk from hotel and goes to aquarium, cannery row, fisherman's wharf, and a few other stops.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Tim S,
Thank you for your feedback, We apologize for the unpleasant evening due to the hot summer weather Monterey has had this year. We hope you visit Hotel Abrego in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We parked on a Friday afternoon in the car park and didn't have to get back in the car until we left on Sunday. The hotel is very nice, and the grounds are well looked after with plenty of parking.

Our room was a typical motel style, on the ground floor, with small back windows and the front door onto the main walkway, however, the room interior was far from motel-style - it was modern and decorated beautifully.

There was nowhere to sit and relax unless you went down to the pool. I think I would have rather have had a sofa in the room instead of an office desk - there wasn't room for both.

Although it was freezing outside, the room stayed stuffy unless you opened both front and back windows - obviously, being on the ground floor we didn't leave the window open unless we were in the room.

The hotel is very close to town - we walked everywhere and got the free trolley when we wanted to torture ourselves in the crowds on Cannery Row.

If we're ever back in Monterey I'd stay there again, but would book a higher floor room or one with a balcony.

Room Tip: High floor or with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear ViksterCa,
Thank your taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Hotel abrego, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Amazing place to stay. Very nice rooms and kids loved the pool. A little pricey but great location! Very close to Monterey bay aquarium, and all the sights. Would stay again. Great stop before San fransisco.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear jennlynnnbauer,
Thank you for the great review, nothing pleases us more than a satisfied guest. Please come visit us again soon when in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Fabulous hotel. The room was light and spacious. Bar in hotel served breakfast that was a reasonable price and good quality; as well as having a happy hour. Hotel looked sweet and welcoming. Staff very friendly and helped in any way they could. Slight downside it was slightly out of town. Though the distance was walkable it was a good 10 minutes. Overall would recommend as hotel was very nice and Monterey is a great place to go visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.