We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife loved the gas fireplace. It was the only source of heat for the room and provided great ambiance but we saw no A/C vents so we expect the rooms may get a bit warm in the summer. The laundry room had only one washer and dryer. They were clean but priced a bit high. Still, the size of the room, the cleanliness, the freshness of the buildings, and that fireplace pushed this hotel to the Excellent rating. A Trader Joe's Grocery is a block away. The location is convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are thrilled to hear you experienced "a very pleasant surprise" staying with us at Hotel Abrego! Thank you weavert for the great review--we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    473
    159
    55
    23
See reviews for
382
675
59
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here last week for 3 nights. The pool was clean and nice. The queen room was a little smaller than expected in comparison to other places we've stayed in that price range, but it was clean ad had very nice finishes. Best hotel shower ever!! My only real complaint was the exterior doors were pretty loud so our last night was disappointing as two new neighbors showed up late and were very loud. Our toddler daughter goes to bed at 8pm and this noise didn't even start until well after 9 and lasted about an hour.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you cf0wler for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed a dip in our pool and your three night stay. My apologies you experienced some noise disturbances from your neighbors in the late evening. We look forward to seeing your return to Hotel Abrego on your next trip to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I don't know how this hotel is getting away with that being in CA, the rooms were stuffy. However the very nice lady at the front desk walked all the way up t our room with a fan for us so that was really nice.
Overall clean nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you jj22kidz for your review. Hotel Abrego offers different types of rooms with different types of amenities. We do offer A/C, however not in every guest room. Fans are available upon request. We hope to see you return to Hotel Abrego in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

A lovely little hotel. Sympathetic decor & super-comfortable bed. Very helpful staff :-) The heated pool was a hit with our children. A 10-15 min walk to fisherman's wharf & cannery row. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you Ratha P! Our heated outdoor pool and central location are just a few of the benefits of being a guest at Hotel Abrego! We hope to see you again on your next trip to the states!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I must say out of all the places I've stayed Abrego is the best. The Chef was so awesome we ate there twice and I brought my family of 9 (who stayed at the "Pebble Beach Resort") and they said it was even better than the food there. Service was stellar from beginning to end! Quincy smoothly checked us in and gave us all the info about surrounding places to go to. If you go PLEASE get the crab cakes, Abrego burger, bacon wrapped shrimp, calamari and YOU MUST HAVE THE CHEESECAKE!!!! It will change your life forever. Definitely the only place I'm eating in Monterey or Pebble Beach!! Thanks to Chef James & Quincy!!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Wow! What a fantastic review! Thank you Kay B for sharing your great experience at Hotel Abrego with your family, and Trip Advisor! Chef Joey makes a mean Butterscotch Cheesecake! There are always new dishes to try at Bistro Abrego, so come back and see us soon for more tasty treats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Loved this hotel. Our room had king bed, fireplace, refrigerator, chaise lounge, and sweet patio. Loved the spacious bathroom and design. The hot tub and pool were perfect. My 3 kids ages 9 - 23 thoroughly enjoyed being here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you Marla M for sharing your "great experience" at Hotel Abrego! We aim to please travelers of all types and ages. We look forward to welcoming you back as a continued patron at Hotel Abrego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The room is very clean and very comfortable. The bathroom is very elegant and the bed is very comfortable. There is no parking charge and located within walking distance to downtown and the fisherman pier. The fireplace is nice however it smells like natural gas, so we turned it off. We were given a 4:00 pm check inn however we were aloud in at around 3:40 when they realized that we were waiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you Ricardo S for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego. We are please to hear you enjoyed our updated amenities, including the gas fireplace. Check in time is 4pm, but we try to accommodate guests as early as we can to allow you to enjoy Monterey to the fullest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Abrego next time you visit Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.