We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed this hotel in Monterey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 20% off
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Temecula, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this hotel in Monterey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our 2 night stay here in September of 2013. clean rooms and comfortable beds.
breakfast was very good in their restaurant with outdoor seating.Pool area was clean with lots of towels. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return, Lovetotravel92591!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    457
    155
    54
    23
See reviews for
375
657
56
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not knowing the Monterey area we booked this hotel from internet research. We were extremely pleased with it and would go back. I'm picky about hotel rooms being fresh and updated and don't like tired, worn rooms with gross grout in the bathroom. I could not have found any complaints about our room. The bathroom was very new looking with a huge walk in shower and lots of stone. The room was really roomy and very quiet. We were across from the elevator above the lobby and didn't hear much of anything. The bed was so comfortable! Tons of pillows. We like to walk so this was a great location. Ten to fifteen minutes to the wharf with no hills. The aquarium is 2 miles away and the walk is gorgeous but if you don't want to walk, the bus stops across the street. Trader Joes is 3 blocks away and there are restaurants everywhere. I had the fruit for breakfast one morning in the restaurant and every type of fruit was at it's peak of flavor. That doesn't usually happen. Great staff!! We would go back tomorrow! Did I mention great price?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the beds! Our downtown location does make it easy to walk anywhere you need to go. Thank you for your review Henlely, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed there one night as a last minute change in plans due to Yosemite National Park being closed. It was easy to make a reservation and the stuff was very courteous. An e-mail communication with the reservation specialist was perfect. She was able to upgrade my room to Premier Fireplace Queen without charging me extra money. The location of the hotel is not ideal. It's located on a busy street rather than in the town or on the beach but it's an easy 10-15 minutes walk to everything. The room on the ground level was clean and the bed was comfortable. However had I to stay more than one night I would have asked for a different one. The hotel is build around its parking lot and most of the rooms face it which is okay, not much noise there. The problem with this room (#3207) and for that matter I'd say for every similar room on that level and block (#3201-3208) was that there is a passage right in front of your window where there is a permanent traffic of people going back and forth to their car. Basically you have to keep the window curtain down all the time unless you are okay with someone looking through your window. This disadvantage of staying at the ground level far outweighs the convenience of not having to take stairs if you are staying in a room at a higher level. We didn't use their restaurant, went for breakfast to Old Monterey Café (5 minutes walk from the hotel) instead and it was awesome.

Room Tip: Ask not to be placed in a room on the ground level facing the parking lot. There is a passage for gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you europetraveler39 for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. Our hotel offers rooms with interior and exterior corridors. We hope to see you back again at Hotel Abrego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

One night stay mid road trip. Great hotel. Didn't try pool, restaurant or bar so can only comment on location and room, both of which were great. Large room with super comfy bed, all amenities you would expect and free wifi. Only 10 mins easy walk to downtown. Free parking. No hesitation to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for sharing your great comments about your stay Fi-W-Scotland, sweet and simple! We look forward to your return to Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Monterey is an incredibly beautiful place, quiet and laid back. The hotel was clean and spacious as was the room, the pool area looked good. Denny's across the way for brekkie is a cheaper option, close to a stunning Whole Foods supermarket in the del monte shopping area, walking distance to the aquarium and cannery row area, do the 17-mile drive and head down the big sur, and obviously Carmel

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you Gingerfeck for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you took advantage of our close proximity to the area attractions and walked around town. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Abrego and on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Location was good and hotel was ok in many ways, but somehow it lacked something and although it claims to be the newest boutique hotel in Monterey, parts of it seemed old and a bit tired (eg bathroom). We ate in the restaurant and wilst the service was good (and the staff at the hotel were generally very helpful) the food was a little disappointing. That said, the hotel was clean and the beds were very comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed during your stay with us, scock72. Hotel Abrego is continually making improvements to our hotel and we hope to welcome you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a stop over whilst travelling onto San Diego, ideal location within walking distance to the pier and location attractions. The hotel is clean and tidy with nice amenities. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you Andrew H for recommending Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your great review and look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.