We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Everyone at the front desk was helpful with any questions asked, especially Chris who always greeted us warmly. The room and entire hotel were clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff was exceptional, especially Laura and Angelica who were attentive, helpful, and friendly. The food was delicious. The hotel is walking distance from town and the fireplace is a nice touch. All-in-all, it was a very pleasant experience and I look forward to staying at Hotel Abrego again.

Room Tip: Next time, I would choose a room on a top floor. I could hear the people walk around in the room ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear ArnetteG,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your pleasant stay with us at Hotel Abrego. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. We look forward to you staying with us in the near future!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    481
    162
    56
    25
See reviews for
394
686
59
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel Abrego is close to the Big Sur International race expo, pre race dinner and post race party. This is the first hotel room where I couldn't hear any neighboring rooms. Perfect peace for runners who need their sleep! I reserved the two queen bed room which had a fireplace and refrigerator. The room didn't have a microwave but you can request one brought to your room. The room had tons of space as did the restroom. Artwork in the room is a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Dennis M,

We are happy you chose to stay with us during the annual Big Sur Marathon. Think Hotel Abrego next time you are in Monterey!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Clean, large spacious room, with a gas fire when it got too chilly! Fairly central location, not too far from town. Not noisy. Beds were very comfortable. Hot tub and swimming pool too. You'll enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear summertime41022,

We appreciate you sharing your kind words about your stay at Hotel Abrego. Come and see us next time you are in the states!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really a great hotel. Everyone we encountered was super friendly and it was an overall great experience. No complaints whatsoever. Conveniently located close to either the mall area or to downtown or the beach. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear rbg22,

Thank you for great comments on TripAdvisor! We look forward to your stay in the future.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. We arrived at the hotel directly from the airport at noon. We had traveled from the East Coast so I was ecstatic when the front desk attendant was able to check us in early. Our deluxe king sweet was cozy and warm. The fireplace was a romantic touch and easy to use. The bathroom had a modern feel including a tiled shower with glass door. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of cute restaurants, a coffee house, a fantastic french bakery, an organic grocery store, a great nail salon (We were in town for a wedding so I needed a mani/pedi and didn't have to go far to find one), and the Wharf. We would stay there again whenever we are in Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear AnnaMD757,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Abrego during your Monterey visit. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location and our "great boutique hotel". We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

had a great stay at he hotel, all facilities were good and the location is excellent. their customer service was so good and they were very accommodating.
whilst not the best pool, it was certainly pleasant. The hot tub was hot! but that is nice when you just want to relax. Plent of parking

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Dave_C1061561,

Thank you for sharing your "Great Stay" at Hotel Abrego! We hope you will stop for a visit next time you are in the states.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We chose Hotel Abrego based on the tripadvisor ratings and were even more pleased than we expected! Excellent customer service - we had several special requests(a quiet room and a late check-out) and we were perfectly accomodated on both. Also, the cafe is very pleasant for a happy hour beverage - again, lovely service! Truly a wonderul place to stay and a great value with AAA/AARP discount.

Room Tip: Ifyou want a quiet room, ask for 2nd floor in building 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear xoxo27,

At Hotel Abrego, we enjoy interacting with our guests to ensure their needs are met. Happy hour is new at Bistro Abrego, and we are glad you had a pleasant experience with us! Stop by for another stay, next time you are in Monterey.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.