We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extremely good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The room we had was only $20-30 more expensive than those at the surrounding economy hotels. For that little extra cost, we got a room ten times nicer than the economy hotels we'd be staying at previously. The furniture, amenities, towels, etc were all elegant and of high quality. Even had robes and a fireplace! The staff was also very friendly and helpful, despite that we had just arrived from a hiking trip and weren't at our most presentable. Definitely worth that small amount of extra money. Will stay at the Abrego again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear FoxtrotPortland_OR,

At Hotel Abrego, we pay attention to the details that adds the extra touch every guest needs. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and see us again!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    490
    164
    58
    27
See reviews for
399
710
61
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife isn't fond of outside corridors, so the Abrego didn't cut it with her, I'm afraid, but I thought it was decent enough. I particularly liked the full size desk but felt the fireplace we had would have been better replaced with air-conditioning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear loseapoint,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. We have both indoor and outdoor corridors, and try our best to accommodate our guests needs and special requests. We hope to see you again at Hotel Abrego!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I realize that the weather in Monterey is generally mild and air conditioning may not be needed for most folks. Well it was pretty humid/muggy and rainy the first two nights we were here and ac would have been more than welcome. I woke up sweating because the blankets are far too thick for this weather without cold air. This also kept the bathroom damp after hot showers, which was unpleasant when multiple people needed to get ready.

We booked the upgraded (Premier) room and assumed because we were paying extra it would have ac... we were wrong, and I think this should be made clear when booking. I would probably stay here again, but I would make sure to get a room with air conditioning. We slept with the window open and it seemed like the breeze refused to come in. In the morning we would be woken up by the loud streets, hotel parking lot and birds.

There is no vanity in this hotel. We had three people in out room and getting ready in the morning was a huge pain. There are two outlets in the bathroom but there is no counter, only the sink. The room had a huge desk with outlets but no mirror. The hotel really should add a mirror over the desks in the room. Bizarre thing not to have space to do your hair or makeup.

I personally liked the beds. They are a bit firm but very comfortable. The rooms were well kept, clean and relatively modern. No complimentary breakfast at this hotel but Denny's is just across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for AC and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Bamoram,

Unfortunately, only some rooms have A/C at Hotel Abrego. As you stated, Monterey has very mild weather year round and A/C is very rarely needed, if at all. We apologize that our accommodations did not satisfy your needs. We hope you will think Hotel Abrego next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Where do I start?
Bed was so hard, All Bath Tissues, and rolls were some of the thinest and roughest we had ever seen. Towels were thin and rough as well. Toilet bowl had Comet green streaks in it the whole time we were there. No bellman, or Vallet. limited parking. had to leave room furnace fan on at night to drown out noise from other rooms and street, shower drain was loud like a manhole drain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Michael B,

We apologize we did not meet your expecations during your stay. We aim to please every guest, and we hope you will give us another chance to make it up to you next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The staff is very curteous and helpful. Was originally given room 1107 but this room, due to the split level design of the hotel, is directly beneath the front desk and kitchen area. Although the room is huge, you can hear every footstep above you. I asked to be moved and fortunately they could accommodate me. The next room was on the 3rd floor and very quiet, albeit much smaller. I have stayed at several hotels in Monterey and believe this to be one of the better hotels for the money.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1107
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear WTGOPS,

We are happy to hear you chose Hotel Abrego! Our guest experience is important to us, and we are glad we were able to accommodate your request. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a great hotel. Close to everywhere you want to visit in Monterey. Parking is free and easily accessible. In room Internet is free as well. We checked in for one night and we now added a second night. The room is large and comfortable. We have a corner room on the 3rd floor so we even have a little view of the bay and a nice view of the city.

The bed is firm but comfortable. Great pillows and a nice down comforter. Lots of desk room which is nice. Also, there's a fridge in the room which is great and loads of outlets for electronics. An iHope clock sites on the nightstand for your iPod.

The bathroom is stunning. The shower is gorgeous. Unfortunately, there's no tub in our room and that was a HUGE disappointment for me. The shower is huge. If we were so so inclined, we could easily fit 4 adults in the shower ;-) The shower head is great as well. BUT, there is NO water pressure (typical for California) and soft water makes everything hard to rinse off so you actually spend more time in the shower than you normally would. They do have rooms with tubs and if we stay here again, we'll request one of those rooms. The people who work at the desk aren't rude but they aren't really overly welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room a the front of the building. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear chillami,

It's pleasing to hear you had a very enjoyable stay with us! All of our in-room amenities were picked with the comfort and convenience of our guests in mind. California has water flow restrictions for shower heads, and the soft water can take some time to get accustomed to if you aren't used to it. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After more than a week traveling in California, we were very happy to have a nice room and a laundromat next to our door. The only unpleasant thing is that the breakfast could be a bit expensive. Especially if you do not pay attention. We often see places where coffee is not included with your order. But toasts? If you want some, be aware that they don't come with your eggs and bacon. You will be charged if you order some.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Tiloup51,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Abrego. Our restaurant offers a variety of choices to cater to the palate of every guest. Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.