We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 15% off
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GROVER BEACH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel staff was attentive and friendly. The room was very clean and looked like the photos. I was a little worried about street noise, but the room was very quiet. I will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Dennis48,

Thank you for telling us about your stay at Hotel Abrego. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will return in the near future. We look forward to seeing you.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    445
    153
    49
    23
See reviews for
374
636
56
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We loved this hotel! I didn't realize when I made the reservation the there was a fireplace in the room! The room was large and the beds were very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great hotel for familys.We will definately stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear KimberlyR1966,

We are happy to hear of your unexpected surprise while staying with us at Hotel Abrego! Guest satisfaction is our number one priority, and your experience proves our dedication to just that. Thank you for sharing, and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night while traveling from L.A. to San Francisco. We arrived a bit late, but the staff was still very welcoming and friendly. Our room was bigger than we expected, and it was very clean. We def took advantage of the fireplace, it was a nice addition to the room. Also, great location to downtown Monterey. Next time we are in Monterey, definitely will be staying here, hopefully for more than one night!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Christine W,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Abrego. Our fireplaces are meant to add that special touch after a long day on the road, or just for rest and relaxation. We are glad to hear of your intent to return, and look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A well maintained hotel close to the city centre. We had a large room in the annex which was superbly serviced and kept spotless. Like all annex roooms it had an external corridor but we didn't experience any problems from this. All in all we had a very pleasant and satisfying stay and would reccomend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Cheshirekatz,

Thank you for your good hotel review. All of our staff take the extra steps necessary to ensure a clean, comfortable atmosphere for our guests. We are glad to hear your very much enjoyed your stay here, and we hope to see you next time you are in the area!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Abrego hotel is super clean , quiet with frendly service , i wuold highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Monterey area , this hotel make me feel like my house :) , nice , clean and quiet, and the all the staff make me feel so special for them, :) thank you, thank you, i was so happy to be there , i did the rigth choose, this hotel is the number one in monterey !!! Thank you !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Damian M,

Thank you for your kind words about your wonderful stay here at Hotel Abrego. We are glad you recognize the strides we make towards guest satisfaction, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the premier fireplace room. We loved the modern style and the room was clean. We were upstairs in the main building near the lobby so we had some lobby noise but it was never an issue for us. We would definitely stay at Hotel Abrego again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear AnnieShew,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about Hotel Abrego during your visit to Monterey. We love hearing how much our guests enjoy the boutique style decor. Keep us in mind when you return to Monterey for your lodging needs!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sur, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel is very comfortable, very clean, quiet with great friendly service. I would highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to the Monterey area. The location is in the city center and very convienent to the shops and restaurants in the area. My particular room had a nice natural gas fireplace which might be the standard on the property with large bathroom, over sized shower and nice amenities.

I wiill return and highly recommend this property to anyone far and near.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear DanPriano,

I am pleased to hear your comments about our hotel on your recent visit to Monterey! We appreciate the kind words about our accommodations and especially our staff. We make customer service a priority at Hotel Abrego. Thank you again for staying with us during your vacation to Monterey and we hope to see you in the future!

Warm Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.