We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advanced Purchase 20% off
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Citrus Heights, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel two nights, while sightseeing in Monterey and hiking at Big Sur. The room was very comfortable, everything looked clean and well-maintained, and it was easy to get around town from this location. Check-in was friendly and efficient, our room was ready even though we arrived a little bit early. Overall a good place to know about!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear SadSenior,

I am happy to hear you had a great getaway in Monterey and received friendly service while staying with us at Hotel Abrego. We hope to see you on your future hiking adventures on the Monterey Peninsula!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    468
    158
    54
    23
See reviews for
379
668
57
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Nice overall choice, and affordable for an area where quality typically costs almost twice the price.

Great breakfast (buffet including the choice of a fresh made daily special).

Buy the rooms in advance and the rate is a great deal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Marc K,

Thank you for recognizing Hotel Abrego as a nice option in Monterey. Our restaurant, Bistro Monterey, has a new breakfast menu we are sure you'd enjoy. We look forward to your future stay with us next time you are in Monterey!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel has lots of plus points: very attractive decor (contemporary Spanish/Mexican), very clean, large comfortable room and beds and no road noise despite the room being on the road front so we slept well, plenty of easy parking, walking distance to town centre, Old Fisherman's Wharf, and shuttle bus stop.
All of the above should have led to an excellent stay but unfortunately we found the service odd - at best quirky and at times disinterested. We noticed this at Reception on check-in, in the bar for pre-dinner drinks, and at especially at breakfast which was very disorganised.
These negative points were very out of keeping with our other experiences during our Californian holiday.
Also Monterey was a bit disappointing - we stayed for 2 nights mid-week and the town felt deserted both day time and evening although the area near the aquarium is livelier. However, we did find a great seafood Italian restaurant on the wharf and ate there both nights as it really stood out from the rest - sorry I can't remember the name but it was a large family restaurant on the right hand side as you walk towards the sea and you can watch the sea lions from the window.
If we returned to this part of California we would opt to stay in Carmel instead which we found surprisingly charming with spectacular beaches.

Room Tip: I think front facing rooms are larger (2 big beds) and have a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear UKYork,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at Hotel Abrego. Our hotel is designed to reflect the history of Monterey, as well as modern conveniences and style. I am sorry to hear you had some "quirks" during your stay regarding service. We hope you will keep us in mind when traveling back to the Central Coast in the future.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We found the staff to be very friendly, even let us check jn early. The room was large and very clean. The decor is modern with a very cozy fireplace. Comfy bed, did not want to get up in the morning! Was worried that the closeness to the street would be noisy, but it was surprisingly quiet! Centrally located to everywhere, just a short drive to all attractions. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear mjto61,

I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable, clean and comfortable stay. We look forward to your return to Hotel Abrego!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our second time staying here during December. Both of which have been my birthday trip. We love Monterey and this is the nicest, most relaxing hotel we've stayed in. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortalble and I especially like the fireplace. We would definitly recommend this hotel and we are definitly coming back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Jina A,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Abrego for your birthday destination in December ... twice! I am happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodations each time and are coming back to visit in the near future. Thank you for being a loyal guest.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

While of course it would be lovely to stay on the water, we chose to save a bit of money and while we had dinner on an ocean patio, we stayed at Hotel Abrego for two nights. Free parking, fine in-town location, and updated rooms . . . it was a good value for our family. We did not eat in the small hotel restaurant, but did have a glass of wine -- pleasant, quiet space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a nice room at the Abrego, clean, nicely furnished, with fireplace. Checking staff a bit slow and confused about handling a Travelocity reservation, but otherwise ok. I would have liked the hotel even more if the rate had been a bit lower - the is the off season in Monterey ...

Room Tip: Try to get a quieter room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.