We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Standard for the Cost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“High Standard for the Cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found Hotel Abrego through Expedia.com but checked out reviews here. The hotel is modern with very spacious rooms with very nice decor & higher end finishing in both room & bathroom. King bed did not crowd the room and there is a desk, chaise longe, flat screen tv, gas fireplace and a separate coffee table. Free Internet. Just on outskirts of Monterey with 10 minutes walk to Alvarado & may be 15 minutes to Fishermans wharf - we needed the exercise anyway!

Small restaurant serves a good breakfast and a very reasonable three course pix fixe dinner ($23)

Friendly staff & wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    496
    164
    58
    28
See reviews for
400
718
63
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosny-sous-Bois, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

unfortunately we always get rooms in the USA with view on walls or no view at all. Surely because we are French?! The room was clean and comfortable, but a little too dark. Breakfast was ok.The situation is really good and we sleep very well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daly city
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The whole place was really clean and everything seems to be very efficient. Absolutely great location. Would stay again and give it a thumbs up. We ate the breakfast served at the hotel and it was good. Very smart menu organization. Finally - a hotel where you can open a window and get fresh air!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during a recent tour of California, the hotel is very nice and tastefully decorated throughout, our room was large and spacious, spotlessly clean with fireplace and chaise longue, the bed was enormous with great bed linen and wonderful pillows, the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is a 20min walk to Fishermans Wharf via Alvarado St. Transit plaza for local buses is 5mins away on Tyler St. We stayed at a further 5 hotels on our tour and this one was the best, Highly recommended.

.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon for a couple of nights, having traveled up from Santa Barbra. When we arrived the check in was quick and easy and the receptionist recommended us a place to eat. Our room was lovely, and they had even put a card, bottle of wine and a box of chocolates in our room to say congratulations on getting married. A nice touch.

The hotel has lots of lovely extras including a cheap coin operated laundry room, swimming pool and spa area. Although we didn't eat at the hotel it looked like they had a good menu and other guests had said it was a good restaurant.

Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Highly recommend this motel. Driving all day, tired, pulled out trip advisor, and found this place. Great rooms, very clean and tidy. Safe. Short walk to downtown and fisherman wharf.
The only downside is the ceilings must be thin. We could hear the people above us walking around.
Highly recommended, just get the upper floor.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We popped into this hotel on our drive from San Francisco to LA. It was very comfortable clean. It was central to everything. We needed to do laundry they have there in house laundry mat, which was a god send when your tired and don't want to spend the rest of your afternoon looking for a laundry mat. The breakfast was great and the price was extremely reasonable. The staff were extremely friendly and on arrival we told them it was our 25 th anniversary, they bougt us chocolates and wine. I'd definetly recommend an stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.