We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant room with wonderful service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abrego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 15% off
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elegant room with wonderful service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We visited Monterey and were pleasantly surprised at Hotel Abrego. As we requested for a King bed (we were on our honeymoon) in our room, the hotel actually took the effort to surprise us with a bottle of wine and chocolates to congratulate us on our honeymoon. We thought it was really sweet and personal!

I liked the fireplace for chilly nights. The hotel is located near Fishermans Wharf and various eateries (Denny's is right across the road). Would have been better if there was all-day room service though. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner, menu quite limited too. But whatever they did not have on the menu, the staff made up with great service. :)

Room Tip: Check the airconditioning before hand. Ours was broken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    441
    152
    49
    22
See reviews for
373
630
56
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Abrego through a livingsocial deal, and were really pleased! I paid for the room upgrade, and so got a premier deluxe room with a fireplace and (sort of) a view. It was a spacious, stylish room with a small balcony, huge flat screen TV, gas fireplace, super comfortable king bed, and fantastic bathroom. They provided down-alternative pillows on request (they were so-so). They accommodated all the requests for the room that I had made, and we had a fantastic stay.

The restaurant leaves much to be desired, and the hotel itself is a few minutes drive from most of the Monterey attractions. But otherwise, I have absolutely no complaints. Staff was friendly and helpful, our room was quiet and comfortable and sparkling clean. A great find!

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms, but the Premier Deluxe King was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was an old-fashioned courtyard-style two-story motel that got totally refurbished in the very recent past. Lovely, immaculate accommodations although I thought the bed was a bit on the firm side.

Walking distance to Alvarado St. with multiple dining and shopping choices, a movie theater, the Convention Center and proximity to the Wharf. And there are several decent restaurants, including the acclaimed French Parker-Lusseau Bakery, just across the street. The hotel itself has a restaurant although we didn't try it.

Free parking, free wi-fi, (though slow; you can upgrade to faster connexn for $3.59 a day,) wide-screen TV, an i-pod dock, plenty of electrical outlets. Lots of hangers, two bathrobes, shelves and a big safe in the ample closet. Good value for an expensive town. In the past, we've stayed at several more expensive hotels (Monterey Plaza, Intercontinental on Cannery Row) and at a cheaper one (Best Western, just down the street from the Abrego on Munras) but this was the best.

My only complaint is the hardness of the mattress. I even considered going to Costco in Sand City and getting an egg-crate. Luckily all the walking pooped me out and I was ready for sleep, notwithstanding the hard bed. But I hope they do something about that.

Room Tip: Not a kitchenette exactly, but a fridge and coffee machine with Wolfgang Puck coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The remolded rooms were beautiful. Fireplaces, plasma tv and very comfortable beds.Bathrooms were also new huge rainshower showers.Very clean. Great downtown location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is great! Clean, centrally located, good price. Had a conference at Portola/Marriott, and Abrego was a short walk away.

1 problem: they did not follow our requests to have a higher level room. BUT they did accomodate us on the 2nd night. They also immediately changed our down pillows to synthetic pillows to accomodate an allergy problem.

For purely selfish reasons, I really want to keep this place a secret so it doesn't get booked on our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a very nice, modern, clean hotel, but is is somewhat removed from most attractions in the Monterey area. We had a fireplace in our room, and turned it off after a while, due to the amount of heat it put out. We then opened our balcony door to cool the room down, but found that the room was very noisy with the door open. At midnight, some skateboarders were practicing in the parking lot under our room. I called the front desk, who immediately sent someone to dispurse the teens. The problem could have been avoided if only there was air conditioning in the room, and we could have left the door closed. I was amazed that a modern hotel would not have in rood airconditioning. Other than that, the room was very nice and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel was a FANTASTIC deal for the price. Only about 10 min to the water and Fisherman's Warf. About 20 min walk (along the water) to the Aquarium. Great price and nice new hotel! Will be back!!

Room Tip: Room 1306 was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abrego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.