We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Sailing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Sailing

Monterey Bay Sailing
78 Old Fisherman's Wharf #1, Monterey, CA 93940
+1 831-372-7245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 72 Activities in Monterey
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail with confidence on world famous Monterey Bay. Monterey hosts the most bio-dense and bio-diverse ecosystem on the U.S. Pacific coast. Whether you are a complete novice trying sailing for the first time, or an experienced ocean veteran ready to take your seamanship to a higher level, we offer American Sailing Association (ASA) classes taught to your skill level. Monterey Sailing Monterey Bay Sailing is a professional sailing organization established in 1998 whose mission is to offer residents of the Monterey Peninsula communities and visitors an affordable opportunity to sail the central coast. Marine mammals seen frequently include grey, blue and humpback whales who blow, or breach as they migrate with their calves. Sea otters, dolphin and vocal sea lions enjoy one of the most pristine areas of the entire Pacific. On cruises, all sailors are offered a chance to take the helm and discover the grace and beauty of a boat under sail. Choose a captained cruise for a more relaxing voyage in the world's second largest marine sanctuary. Cruises are safe, affordable, family fun for all ages. For sailors who want to become active in the sport, a membership in Monterey Bay Sailing Club reduces the cost of certification courses and bareboat rentals by 50 - 70%. Bareboat rentals are available for non-members who are certified and qualified to bareboat. The Monterey Bay Sailing fleet offers a selection of boats suited to the local conditions. The local conditions are a sailors paradise. Typically, 345 plus days of good to excellent sailing conditions predominate annually. The prevailing west to northwest wind ranges predictably from 8-15 knots. The ASA sailing school is instructed by professional sailors with decades of experience. ASA certifications are valid for life and recognized internationally. We are dedicated to teaching safety and seamanship and give you the confidence to fulfill your sailing goals and dreams.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Sweet Sailing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I went sailing with Captain Dutch two days in a row. The first day I considered excellent and the 2nd day was even better! We sailed next to and around 2 whales for 45 minutes. We enjoyed watching them wave their tails and slap them on the water. The waves were large and I sat at the tip of the bow. It was excellent to watch the sea lions, harbour seals, sea otters, brown pelicans, jelly fish and WHALES! I loved it, I will do it again and maybe even learn to sail. Being on the water is part of my life and getting out sailing was better than expected. I loved it and highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Bay_Sailing, Director of Sales at Monterey Bay Sailing, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We always enjoy it when we get the amazing opportunity to view whales up close. We are very fortunate to have such a large diversity of marine life in our area and we appreciate it when a customer can enjoy the marine life up close. We thank you for sharing your appreciation with us and we encourage you to come back for all your future sailing needs. Best Regards Takoda Fletcher Marketing Director Monterey Bay Sailing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    4
    3
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“September Evening Cruise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I agree with some of the other poor reviews, Capt Dutch was less than conversational... slightly friendly at first but his personality worsened thru the 1 hour "sunset cruise". Went out into the bay and turned around, back in less that 45 minutes. Wine was server in solo cups and the fruit and chesse tray must have been out all day. The lights on the coast were pretty on our way back in. The dog at the office on the wharf was nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Bay_Sailing, Director of Sales at Monterey Bay Sailing, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. My apologies about the captain having to take phone calls out in the bay. It was a particularly busy day and Dutch was forced to take one or two phone calls while out sailing in order to fill others sailing needs. Dutch no longer takes phone calls while out in the bay because we have hired a full time office manager to take calls while dutch is out sailing. Our wine is served in solo cups because we don't normally give one wine cup to multiple passengers as it creates health issues. Our fruit and cheese platters are prepared fresh, bought the day of and covered as soon as made. We buy all of our food fresh from trader joes no more than 3 hours before each trip and we store all of our food in our office freezer. If you come back to our business I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Best Regards Takoda Fletcher Marketing Director Monterey Bay Sailing.

If You wish to further communicate with us feel free to call or email us at dutch@montereysailing.com or call at 8313727245.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Overnight on a sailboat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Not exactly what we had expected but quite an experience. Unfortunately, the boat smells like oil, the blankets provided didn't look very clean, the sea lions barked all night, but quite an experience!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Bay_Sailing, Director of Sales at Monterey Bay Sailing, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I am very sorry that the boat had smelled like oil on that particular night. Unfortunately one of our mechanics had found on the day after a ventilator in the stern of the boat had failed due to corrosion and a few drops of oil had leaked from the engine drive shaft. I am extremely sorry about this and our team of mechanics promptly installed a new chromed ventilator this new ventilator with help prevent corrosion and will prevent future problems from arising. My apologies about the sea lions barking. We are blessed with a large abundance of marine life all day and night. I am very sorry that the seal ions kept you up and we have made arrangements with the owners of the marina to position our vessels further back from the sea lions in order to rectify this problem. If you come back to our business I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Best Regards Takoda Fletcher Marketing Director Monterey Bay Sailing.

Please email or call us at dutch@montereysailing.com or 8313727245 with any further problems or comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Memorable birthday sail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We made a 3-hour reservation for sailing which proved to be fantastic! Captain Dutch was a super guide and provided so much information about the area- both land and sealife. We saw sea lions in the water throughout the trip, various birds at sea, and jellyfish. It was a relaxing and beautiful sail. This will be part of my next trip to Monterey!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great sailing charter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We did not want to smell diesel fumes on a whale watching boat and were pleased to find this sailing charter right on the dock. Capt. Dutch was very nice and told us a lot about the bay and surrounding area. Only my wife and I were there but he was happy to take us out anyway. The cat boat had a very smooth ride and was easy to handle.
Complimentary wine was a great touch. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Bay Sailing also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Monterey Bay Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Sailing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.