We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 17-Mile Drive

17-Mile Drive
Monterey, CA 93953
Website
Improve this listing
Visit 17-Mile Drive like an insider
Private Tour
$200*
and up
Private Tour: Monterey Coastal Sights by Bike
Ranked #5 of 98 things to do in Monterey
Activities: Driving, Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seals bask on the beach and pelicans perch on rocky cliffs along this famous drive that passes through many popular spots.
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It was our first time there, we didnt get to do the whole thing the sun went down on us. But it was very nice. Very cold and windy but very nice. The views are wonderful. And despite it being part of private properties and several golf courses, it really is worth the $10. You get that back if you eat at one of the restaurants on peeble beach. I enjoyed it very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,978
    764
    337
    110
    89
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was a beautiful, scenic drive. There were many places to stop and take pictures, which I tool advantage of.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Should be free.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is a little over-rated. First of all, it's a private property so you're driving by all these peoples houses and a million golf courses...which who cares, honestly? What's the point of seeing a golf course? Anyway! It's 10 dollars!! There are 21 viewpoints and I liked about 2 of those. The only reason I'm not giving this a 1 star is because we saw some sea lions and a couple whales far far far out in the ocean. If it wasn't for that, I would give this 1 star. It's not worth it at all and was honestly a waste of time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Its Scenic and nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a private property so has an entry fee. There are lot of viewpoint along the drive. Its very scenic. Some places are awesome, it looks as if its a movie set. If you are photographer you will have feast clicking the gorgeous landscape. Food is available only near the visitor center.

Tip: If you are photographer, try to be around sunset in this place. Sunset as well as orange light on the landscape is just awesome...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

It was a nice drive, but the views driving down the coast are much nicer. There were too many tour busses and it was annoying to fight the crowds at some of the points.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 17-Mile Drive also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to 17-Mile Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 17-Mile Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.