We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge park - so much to do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dennis the Menace Park

Dennis the Menace Park
Pearl Street and Camino El Estero, Monterey, CA
831-646-3866
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 98 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by the creator of Dennis the Menace, this park has all sorts of unique attractions.
Agoura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Huge park - so much to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great place to visit when you travel to Monterey with young children. Activities for children of all ages - we spent 3 hours there, then had to drag our daughter away - she wanted to stay longer! (warning this is a really large park for a small child!)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    96
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best park for kids on the Peninsula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Looking for a place for the kids to run off some steam.....a nice balance for all the adult things you are making them see,

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family fun n the middle of a great beautiful Lake area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Gee, what to say. Monterey has maintained the Dennis the Menace Park for several years.....as a teenager, I worked there as a recreation leader (Monterey Recreation Department) Maybe 50 years ago, oh oh I dated myself. The City has kept the theme to entertain both kids and adults all these wonderful years. There are swings, slides and other sorts or play things. There is a ball park adjacent and hot dog stand plus picnic tables nearby. The walk around the lake is so nice . Birds and Ducks. Paddle Boats for rent.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place to let the kids run wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

And they will. A gem of a place to share with your young kids. Unfortunately the train engine has been fenced off because of overly protective parents forcing their opinions on the rest of us (yeah, I do have an opinion on this). This was a highlight for my kids, and my grandkids that is now not an option. Too bad, but there are still many worthy things to do. So if you have an hour or 2, and need to let the energy level peak, take the kids here, and they will pass out on the way home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great park for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved the extended playground and enjoyed renting a paddle boat for a 30-minute excursion around the pond.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dennis the Menace Park also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Dennis the Menace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dennis the Menace Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.