We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fisherman's Wharf

Old Fisherman's Wharf
Monterey, CA
831-649-6544
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$220*
and up
2-Day Monterey, Carmel and Pebble Beach Tour from...
Ranked #23 of 72 Activities in Monterey
Type: Neighborhoods, Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Adventure
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gift shops and stores fill this part of town.
Youngsville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed the many shops and restaurants at the wharf. The view is spectacular by the water with the boats and wildlife. Enjoyed watching the sea lions frolic in the water. Would highly recommend a visit to the Wharf!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    190
    113
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yep it's Old!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The restaurants are hawking trying to get you to come in to eat like old time carnival barkers ( just like in old movies or something)
Kinda creepy actually.


The clam chowder on the wharf has to be the worst I've eaten in a seaside town !!

There's not much here at least 3 of the restaurants are owned by the same family ---and they claim to have the best --- well we ate at a place near Cannery Row with much better food & much better prices!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic and nicely kept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice place for strolling around. Several restaurants and tourist shops. But it ´s possible to have a nice lunch, avoiding tourist traps

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Liked walking around...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

WE spent a couple of evening s on the wharf, having an excellent supper. there are a few shops to look around and spend some time in. Yo have to pay for the parking, but that is Monterey and California, for you!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We enjoyed the sights, sounds and smells of the old wharf area and the cheap Happy Hour specials were a treat. Some of the prices for meals are a bit much but part of the hype.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fisherman's Wharf also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Old Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.