We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate, European feeling, delicious meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Moulin

Bistro Moulin
867 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1054
831-333-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 231 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intimate, European feeling, delicious meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The Canelloni Tartufi was out of this world. So unusual, a mouth treat for sure. Who'd have thought of such a combination?

Good wine list & the wait person made good suggestions to pair with our food choices.

A gem among the tourist houses.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanO22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paris in Monterey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

By far, the best meal we had during our stay in Monterey. Escargots and mussels were authentically French and delicious. Beef tenderloin cannelloni was unique and wonderfully flavorful. Sadly, didn't have room for dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HuffmanLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place was amazing. The food was incredible. It's not all French food, we saw it listed as European. We ended up getting Italian dishes. I had the cannelloni, some of the best I've ever had. My husband had the Osso Bucco which was also tasty. The atmosphere is very French though. The place is on the smaller side and felt very intimate. The food is what really left an impression for us. We will definitely make a visit here next time we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“France At Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Five of Us Descended On This Great Little Bistro To Celebrate My Wife's Birthday. Simply Superb! We Had Been There Before And Almost Forgot How Terrific This Gem Of France In Monterey Is. I've Decided To Compare Osso Buco At 3 Of My Favorite Local Restaurants And While The Others Were Excellent, Bistro Moulin Took It To Another Level. Excellent ( But A Little Pricey) Wine List. Moules ...Fabulous. Coq Au Vin...Terrific. Escargots...Swoon Worthy. And On And On...Reservations A Must. I Feel Guilty For Not Being A More Faithful Patron.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Given that my fiance is from France, we like to check out other French restaurants when traveling, as we both loved it. The pate was wonderful (and I am not usually a fan) and the mussels & broth were excellent!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Moulin also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Bistro Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing