We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas on the Wharf...FUN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay

Monterey Bay
Monterey, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Attractions in Monterey
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Kayaking, Fishing, Whale watching
Attraction details
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Christmas on the Wharf...FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Surprisingly there were many restaurants open on Christmas day serving up chowder and fresh fish for lunch. Not a ton of people so that was really nice. This place is a "sea" of poeple in the summer. Sorry about the pun! Wine tasting was great, Carmel Ridge tasting room on the wharf was excellent. The winemaker was there pouring our taste and answering up all the questions...yes, we bought several bottles. Yum! A very beautiful place to walk with your honey and the dog, most restaurants and wineries will accomodate the dog.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    164
    28
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming charming charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Whale watching is a great activity here and that's what we were after. We were not disappointed - for over couple of hours two grey whales swam with our little vessel almost showing an interest equal to ours - human watching I guess!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the food, gift shops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

No dislikes at all. We simple had too little time to see the area and all the attractions. It would take atleast a week to see the sights.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Monterey Bay is a fantastic place to visit and offers a number of interesting things to do and see. The area includes the city of Monterey, Pacific Grove, Seaside and Marina to name a few. It is a wonderful location, but be ready to pay. Some of the attractions, restaurants and hotels are expensive, but worth the money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Panoramic Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Thee Bay is majestic and beautiful. It is a paradise for worshipers of Nature. Weekends are crowdy. Please prefer weekdays for the visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Bay also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.