We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Boutique hôtel getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1110

Save Saved
You added Hotel 1110 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1110
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1110 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly The Inn at Del Monte Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Monterey B&B and Inns
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quaint Boutique hôtel getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

As you enter this quaint hotel, you are met with a very eclectically decorated foyer/parlor area, a bar and small window at the far end of the bar for checking in. Everyone is so nice and very helpful. We were there in winter, so street parking was not a problem although in the height of the season, I could see an issue. But, it is so close to the wharf area you can walk and not have to move your car at all. Our room was in the process of being decorated; the bathroom, very nicely done for the small area, included a jacuzzi tub and shower tower with water shooting out from top to bottom. The breakfast was generous, however, if you have eating issues such as gluten free or low residue diet, you should notify the staff before or as soon as you arrive. They are very accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the busy street out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    56
    27
    20
    26
See reviews for
9
145
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a couple years ago (when it was called the inn at del monte beach) and I still can't stop raving about my stay!

My boyfriend and I got in a bit later than expected (after 10pm) but the owner was so kind when we arrived. Also, free street parking was a major plus.

The room was adorably decorated and the wall heater that imitated a fireplace was comfortably warm and fun to watch. The bathroom was pristine, gorgeous white marble (?). The bed was comfy enough for our one night stay. The tv in the room had a DVD player and the owner let us come borrow movies from the lobby.

Breakfast was SO delicious! Everything seemed gourmet and was very filling. Oatmeal, some sort of pancake type thing, fruit... I was stuffed.

The rooftop access is nice, you can sit and enjoy the breeze in the morning. The view of the water right across the street is beautiful. Also, the location to the aquarium and cannery row is so convenient!

I love this place and was amazed at the experience for the price. Next time I stay in this area I won't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had a groupon that was about to expire so was planning on staying for the 2 days - it was so awful that I cut out after only one night. I guess it was "European " style, at least that is what my companion told me and he has travelled in Europe. The room was teeny tine. To get to my side of the bed i had to squeeze around it and banged my shin on the end of the bed more than once.
There was a bidet, but when one sat on the toilet, it slid around strangely. Quite disconcerting. But the true highlight was the shower which sprayed water from all directions and actually flooded the floor with about 2 to 3 inches of water and also soaked the toilet paper.
the breakfast was good. When we told the woman at the desk that we had to leave early she barely looked up from her work to acknowledge us. Bed was super hard and thin mattress.

Room Tip: Ours was noisy...Not sure if there are any good ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our honeymoon road trip around western USA in April. When we arrived in Monterey it was still raining (as it had been for our entire drive there) and miserable but we were soon smiling after entering the plushly decorated lobby. We were greeted warmly and the owner checked if we had any food allergies. Our room was compact with a fireplace that was very welcome after cold & damp walk to the marina & back along with the jacuzzi bath which we both enjoyed. the complimentary bathrobes were also lovely. We arrived about 2pm so had no trouble parking, and found the hotel itself easily after checking what it looked like on street view before arriving. The breakfast was lovely, greek yogurt with honey (something that has become a staple back at home), with an egg served inside a 'dish' of ham, the best part? when they pulled out a full on case of twinings tea. Proper tea! Whilst we were there is was mostly young couples, everyone was treated individually, a real personal experience. The happy hour /wine tasting was a nice - it even came with some canapés. In the morning when the weather cleared up we went up to the sun deck, gorgeous views and it looked like it would be amazing in summertime (i hope i get to go back some day). The hotel is conveniently located, approx 5-7 minutes walk from the harbour/marina/beach, also next door but two to a garage with plenty of supplies. We had a room on the 2nd floor towards the back of the hotel and didn't have any noise problems, the only downside was that the tv channels were extremely limited for when we were relaxing in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was recommended to this unique boutique hotel from a friend. I usually stay at the Hyatt in Monterey, but I pass up his recommendation. I must say, this is truly a hidden gem. Not only are the prices and location awesome, but so is the over all stay. It's a small family owned business with such warmth and coziness that it beats staying at the Hyatt! What makes it more worth while is a free drink during happy hour and also the breakfast that is included. Parking is limited, but I didn't have a problem. The location is also wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

What a gem! This is where you want to stay for personal attention with a European feel. The rooms are uniquely decorated and the bathrooms appointed with delux shower features. The owners are charming and go out of their way to please. We expected your typical continental breakfasts. Not so! We were treated to something completely different and gourmet each day, like Greek yogurt with honey and walnuts, or eggs and sausage with a foreign (Spanish?) flare. So you are not disappointed, the rooms are very small and do not provide a living/daytime hang out space. But the lobby and roof deck are great for that.

Room Tip: The halls can be a little noisy with other guests slamming doors. May want to request a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie in Tahoe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was my husband's 80th birthday get-away for a few days. We've traveled extensively over the years for both business and pleasure and were so tired of "cookie-cutter" concrete hotels with identical rooms hermetically sealed and plastic smiles (if there are smiles) on the faces of the front desk people we could scream. And microwaved "free breakfasts - YUK !!" Hotel 1110 was such a wonderful experience for us!! Like others, the outside and location on a very busy street had us wondering as we approached "OMGoodness, did we make a big mistake???". Once we opened the door and stepped "through the looking glass" we thought we had been transported to the Left Bank. Whimsical and charming and just plain fun to explore!! We "ooo'd" and "ahhh'd" as we walked the hallway with the painted furnishings floating on the wall...marveled at the stunning red chandeliers in the dining area, touched the draperies and linens (so fine!) and loved every moment of our too-brief two night stay. Breakfast was SENSATIONAL and unique both mornings. The owner Nick and his sister Nashua went overboard for my husband's 80th Birthday dinner by inviting us to a full Lebanese feast .... their treat at the hotel! Nick cooked all day and set the community table beautifully and we sat and ate and talked for hours. This is a HOTEL? My goodness, we felt like family when we left to hugs and promises to return. If you love things unique and warm and personal, you will love Hotel 1110. (Yes, there is plenty of street noise and yet, even with the windows wide open, I slept like a baby both nights.) Rooms are small - as in Europe - yes, but hey, this is MONTEREY...go outdoors and play! The bed was so comfy; the bath so perfect with the Jacuzzi tub and shower from every which way so fun. Thank you, Nick and Nashua (and Maria!) for a most memorable stay. We will return.

Room Tip: Room 303 has a huge king bed - which takes up the entire room but also provides a most wonderful nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1110? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1110

Address: 1110 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly The Inn at Del Monte Beach)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 1110 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly designed European-style Inn is an easy walk to Monterey's beaches, City Center restaurants, shopping, nightlife, cultural activities and Old Fisherman’s Wharf. Nearby outdoor adventures include kayaking, biking, hiking, golf, whale watching, horseback riding and much more. Enjoy a panoramic view of Monterey Bay, Del Monte Beach, Monterey's city center and marina from our Rooftop Observation Deck, while sampling complimentary afternoon refreshments during our afternoon tea time and wine tasting, or while just lounging about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel 1110 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Del Monte Beach Hotel Monterey
Del Monte Beach Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1110, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.