We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel just not enough beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Golf Package
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel just not enough beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We arrived for check in at approx 630pm to be told that there were no rooms left with 2 queen size beds. We had made our reservation months ago. I was travelling with my husband and 12 and 13 year old boys. The girl behind reception was very apologetic and offered us free breakfast and waived the resort fee, she would not however offer dinner for that evening. The upshot was we had a roll up bed delivered yo the room which slept 1 and 3 had to sleep in the king size bed, not ideal I have to say, when we specifically booked 2 queen size beds. However the hotel itself is nice, we had a room with a balcony with a view of the golf course. Glad we only had to stay 1 night though, 3 in a bed is ridiculous! The breakfast was nice with a good selection and the hot chocolates were very delicious. Service very good.

Room Tip: Ensure you get the beds you need. Rooms overlooking the golf course are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    554
    395
    189
    139
See reviews for
416
531
58
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We drove from San Fran to Anaheim over 3 days this was one of our stops along the way!

This hotel was really nice! rooms were huge, the grounds are stunning, the food is amazing and the location is perfect!

I would stay here again no worries.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband and I travel for pleasure a lot and stay in upscale / 5-star hotels.
This property is OLD, and Hyatt has tried to "polish" it up.
The hotel is comprised of many 3 story buildings of hotel rooms - very much like a MOTEL.
You drive and park in front of your building.
The hotel is located right on the Old Del Monte Golf Course, so it's very convenient if you plan to play golf there.
We were lucky enough to get one of the FEW balcony rooms. I saw the standard room w/out balcony, and there would have been no way I could have stayed in the room.
The balcony was probably only 5' x 4', at most, but it did provide a nice place to sit and watch the golfers putt and tee off.
The rooms have been cheaply modernized.
The bed linens slipped off the mattress (and I don't move around when I sleep), so when I woke up the sheet was un-tucked and the mattress was peeking through. Old and small pillows. Not a comfortable bed. Had three restless nights.
The bathroom - argh... a tub/shower with a SHOWER CURTAIN (yuck - gross).
They only provide BAR SOAP - no shower gel.
Get with the program Hyatt Regency. Glass showers and shower gel are a must.
There are not many new / modern hotels in Monterey, so if you are staying on points, then go for it.
We did a combo of points / pay. I paid $399 for one night and $199 for the other (Labor Day weekdend). $399 was a JOKE.
Next time I'm in the area, I would probably just stay at Pacific Grove Inn or splurge for The Lodge at Pebble Beach.

Room Tip: Building close to lobby Diamond lounge is in building #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Older hotel which need a makeover. it reminds of a State Park Lodge PRO: nice setting, big rooms, remodeled bathroom, good bar CONS: Noise from the freeway, location good for golfing but a little too from downtown,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Not a high-rise hotel in the city but more of a "retreat" type facility with multiple buildings spread out among the trees. No air conditioning so have to leave windows open (and curtains if you want air flow) and keep the ceiling fan running. Room faced the highway which is very close so traffic noise was constant. Bathroom was beautiful and clean but not very functional with no counter space for curling irons, etc. Furnishings are average and utilitarian.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where the windows open away from the highway to help with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The room was older but clean and in good repair. The bathroom had recently been refreshed with new fixtures which were nice. It was close enough to Monterey and to some local hikes and state parks to make it work.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My family planned a week long adventure up the coast and this hotel ended up being a last minute decision during our trip. We were given room #2032 that had a huge wrap around balcony. We were able to store our bikes in the room and ride each day to the Monterey Bay bike trail just down the street. We also took a taxi to town both nights and it cost us $12 each way. Overall a nice hotel that was an EXCELLENT value. It is true that the hotel doesn't have A/C, but we simply slept with the doors open and fan on each night.

Room Tip: Choose room 2032 if you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.