We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced too high for excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Golf Package
Ranked #34 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Iron station
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Priced too high for excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a good stay at hotel for 2 nights. Luxury hotel with campus setting. Campus layout of the hotels made it hard to find registration and other places, but had resort type feel. Rooms and bathroom appear recently remodeled and clean. Professional and friendly staff, especially Jeff who worked third shift and dealt with our drunken stupor very well. No breakfast included, they want to charge $21. Had other services that have no value to me like valet service and help with taking luggage to room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    480
    354
    176
    130
See reviews for
359
474
54
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel consists of 2-storey walk-up buildings that are placed between the parking lot and the Del Monte golf course. Staff is friendly and the hotel has a very good lobby bar, albeit with no Fernet Branca. There is a large fireplace; the perfect place to have a a Fat Lip (local beer) while reviewing the score card from one of the areas fine, fine, fine golf courses such as Pebble Beach, Spanish Bay or Spyglass Hill (all part of the Pebble Beach Group).

The rooms are typical high-end chain hotel; however we lucked out and got an extremely comfortable King bed in which I had my best sleep in a long time (too bad it did not positively affect the following day's golf scores).

In sum, this hotel should serve your purposes just fine for a clean, comfortable high-end chain hotel stay in the Monterey area. Note that if you are looking for something right near the beach, look elsewhere though.

Room Tip: Get the King bed and golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We are spending the weekend at the Monterey Hyatt Regency and planning on taking a kayak tour at elkhorn slough to see the sea otters and other sanctuary sea life. The hotel is a couple of minutes from Monterey Bay Kayaks.
This hotel is decent. The staff is nice and the rooms are pretty comfortable. The main lodge is very nice, as it has a nice fireplace, bar and restaurant.
The first thing we noticed was that the hotel is very family friendly, but spacious enough for couples looking for a weekend get away.

The hotel is situated fairly close to all of the bay attractions, but far enough away from the tourist bustle.

I would come here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding and found it to be a pleasant experience. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was small but had modern appliances. Despite being close to the highway I did not hear much if any outside noise. The food at the hotel left was not worth the price but given the fact that most things close early having something edible and on site was nice. The golf course on the property is a nice touch and it is a great place to sit outside and chat with friends.

While I do think that the hotel is overpriced you do not have to worry about feeling uncomfortable in the rooms. That is not something that can be said about many of the hotels in this tourism rich area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in mid October. We booked it because it was very reasonably priced in comparison with other Monterey area comparable hotels. After spending 10 days in different hotels while traveling through California it was a very nice change from Best Western and alike ventures. It proved to be a great decision and we even extended our stay for another night. The room was spacious, modern and very comfy. The service was also really nice. We arrived late at night and were quickly and efficiently accommodated. During the stay we lost the access to our safety deposit box in the room and it took 10 minutes to have it opened by service personnel. Just Great.

The hotel is conveniently located close to the highway and 5 minutes drive to Monterey. We had great time in the area exploring the shores of the most picturesque areas and having a nice place to get back to after busy days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Frank P,

Thank you for taking the time to comment online about your recent visit and thank you for the recommendation! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves so much that you extended your stay with us. I love hearing costumer service stories concerning our staff and I’m glad our Front Office and Engineering teams were able to support you here during your stay. Please come see us again soon!

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire using their Secret Hot Rates for a total of about $135 in the summer (June 2013). It was a decent price. Unfortunately, what Hotwire didn't mention initially is that they charge a $25 resort fee, but we only stayed for one night and didn't take advantage of anything they had there - this review is only about the room. It was a nice, spacious room with a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. A little on the pricier side for us, but in this case, we got what we paid for. It'd be nice if they had offered breakfast too, but I wouldn't expect that from a place like this.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This golf and conference hotel is good. Spacious rooms, bathrooms are good, no bath but good shower. Beds are good. Restaurant Tusca serves breakfast but this is expensive. The sports bar has a good vibe and diner is good.

So what is the average score about. I will start with the resort fee of 20 dollars per night for this you get... Well uhmm not much; discount on greenfees, good 24 hour gym and basic wifi, only in the lobby. Every other hotel or motel we stayed offered free in room wifi and complementary breakfast. The location of this hotel doesn't make up for the price. I guess there are other hotels with a better price/service/quality level.

Conclusion comfortable stay, polite staff. But overpriced and if you are not a golfer I would not recommend it unless you get a good deal.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Marselisa,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for the kind words of our rooms, guest bathrooms, restaurants, and staff. As you mentioned, the resort fee includes amenities such as in-room WiFi, StayFit Gym, valet and self-parking, transportation to the airport and Fisherman’s Wharf, etc that many hotels charge separately for. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.