We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but ok for a stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Golf Package
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
northern ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not great, but ok for a stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We got a really good deal on Hotwire (unseen), and ended up here for 1 night on our way up from Big Sur to the winelands. It's a big, sprawling business/golf hotel located on the outskirts of the city. Our room was ok - large and well equipped, clean, and with a view of the golf course which was pretty in the morning sunlight. Parking was non-valet (which we Brits like!), and appeared free although I'm sure it was included in the (rather unwelcome) 'resort fee', which came as a bit of a surprise at check-out.
However - the rooms are reached by various outside entrances (arranged in blocks rather like a motel), and someone tried our door a few times during the night. Possibly it was someone who was lost and had got the wrong room, but for reasons of security I suggest you lock your door from the inside, as we had.
We drove to Carmel for dinner (which we would highly recommend!) and then had a couple of drinks in the hotel bar, which we thought were way-overpriced, even for a hotel bar. In the morning we just had a coffee and bagel from the Starbucks desk at the bar, and sat outside in the sunshine on the side of the golf course which was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear ni_traveller74,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your golf course view guestroom; these are some of our most popular spots on property. I hope we are able to welcome you again the next time your travels bring you to the area and you are able to try our TusCA Ristorante or Knuckles Sports Bar, although I agree with you – Carmel shouldn't be missed!

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    518
    376
    184
    133
See reviews for
398
504
55
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way down to San Simeon. We got what I thought was a great deal on Travelocity. Hyatt Regency's are usually very nice hotels, so we were expecting something above average. Unfortunately, this hotel is barely average, maybe even below. If there was a 2.5, that's what I would rate it.
The hotel is very dated. Looks like something built in the 1970s. We were in building 11, but had to take the elevator to the 3rd floor that is between building 9 and 10 and then walk through building 10 to building 11. No way out of building 11; no stairs, no elevator. Very strange layout.
We had a view of the parking lot, across from their convention center. Noisy bus arrived at 6:30 a.m. We went to one pool that was by our room. Very small. No water available.
The room was adequate. Nice bathroom. As someone else stated, there is no air conditioner. They have a portable unit that I guess circulates air and you are supposed to turn on your ceiling fan. Again, just strange for a Hyatt Regency.
We did ask the Concierge for a dinner recommendation. She gave us a card for a free appetizer at a restaurant on Fisherman's Wharf. We ended up going to a different one that had a better view.
I would not stay here again. If our price as supposedly half off, I would have been livid to pay full price for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear PetalumaTraveler,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit. I am disappointed to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us and am sorry you did not like the design of the property. Many enjoy the open horizontal layout as a refreshing alternative to the traditional high-rise hotel. I apologize for the disturbance you experienced due to the early arrival of the bus. I have forwarded your comments to our Guest Services Manager to ensure this will not reoccur. As you noted, we have portable air conditioners placed in our guestrooms. These units are meant to increase the comfort of our guests as our hotel was built without air conditioning.

I hope we see you again whenever you travels bring you back to the beautiful Monterey Peninsula.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Locked out of the room twice due to their stupidity, toilet problems kept me hostage for 3 hours. This Hyatt provided just bad service.
It was so bad, I had to ask for a refund, and some comps to make my week stay at minimum of satisfaction.
The layout of the hotel and rooms is stupid.
The refund they promised has already taken more than 5 weeks and still waiting.
The whole organization is out of touch.
I just won't stay at any Hyatt again, ever.

Room Tip: Even the cheap hotels provide some kind of breakfast, but not the Hyatt. Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we first arrived realized there was no air conditioning in the room...upon calling the front desk we were told to open the window and turn on the filing fan rudely. In addition, there was stuffy service at both restaurants except knuckles. There is no view of anything but highway. The nicest people were the valet and the knuckles bartender. Expensive and not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear AMRM1712,

Thank you for taking the time to post online about your recent visit. I want to apologize for the missteps in service that you experienced. We have now installed air conditioning units in over 450 of our guestrooms due to feedback like yours and the remainder of our rooms will be completed in the next few months. Many of our rooms have golf course and pool views which are available as an option when you make your reservation. I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed for one night on the way to Napa Valley. Rooms easy to find with parking outside.
Clean and well presented. Decided to eat in the restaurant, big surprise it was very good.
Many hotel restaurants leave a lot to be desired, not this one very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our room was against the highway, so we wakened through the night to loud traffic noise. Our next door neighbors had 2 noisy children, wakening us at 630am. The other neighbors came in drunk and noisy at 230am. The mattresses are comfortable at the beginning of the night, but everyone wakened with backaches each morning. We booked 2 beds for 3 people, but were told on arrival it was a single bed booked---perhaps why the charges were well over the booked rate. The bathroom had black long hairs in the sink and on the walls......need I say more?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear thatslifeinanutshell,

I want to thank you for taking a moment to comment about your stay on TripAdvisor. I have forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeping Manager so there are no future reoccurrences. I hope that your stay with us does not deter a future visit as we would love to have you back soon.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was dead. No atmosphere whatsoever. Business traveller then this would be first rate. Everyone certainly very efficient but very clinical. However the breakfast was very good. In the evening we visited Monterey having taken advice from the concierge....think we were on different pages! Eventually my son found us a place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear k g,

Thank you for posting about your recent visit. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast; however, I’m sorry that our concierge wasn't quite able to find the right recommendations for you. In the future, I hope you are able to try our TusCA Ristorante, Knuckles Sports Bar or Fireplace Lounge, which has live Jazz on the weekends. I hope we see you back soon!

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.