We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vast improvement but still room...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Golf Package
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Vast improvement but still room...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Property has been updated significantly over the years but there is still room to improve. Had a suite that was very comfortable and modern. Bathroom was cramped though. Buildings are dated but the interiors are modern. Regency Club is cramped though and evening food offerings are hit-miss (one was so salty, it tasted like the Dead Sea) and sign-in process is just annoying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    554
    395
    189
    139
See reviews for
416
531
58
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were looking to spend a nice weekend with our family in the Monterey or Carmel area. We booked 2 rooms at the Hyatt Regency through Priceline as it sounded like a resort property. The staff at the front desk and bellmen were very helpful, but we found our rooms in Building 25 to be very noisy. On the rear side, they were adjacent to a freeway with constant traffic noise. On the porch side, we fronted the pool which was noisy all day long. The pool and spa were used until 1:30 in the morning, thought I believe they were supposed to be closed. The double rooms appeared to have been updated, but were still small with insufficient room in the bathrooms for toiletries. The property was fine but in such a nice area of California we were hoping for something more charming and found we did not want to spend much time at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room that is away from the pool area and not on the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting this week for 3 nights. For me the cons for this place far outweigh the pros. Until this place gets a major overhaul I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Pros:
The staff is courteous and professional. Front desk, housekeeping, catering servers, bar/restaurant wait staff were all very nice.
Nice bathroom with walk in shower.
Nice lobby and Fireplace lounge- great Mojito and mushroom pizza.
Mini-fridge, safe, coffee tea maker in the room and a ceiling fan
Wi-fi works well in the room. Note: Unless you're downloading a lot of video, you probably don't need to buy the upgrade for the higher speed.


Cons:
King bed- mine was very uncomfortable - I guess I drew the short straw since others have been happy with theirs. I didn't sleep well once.
The floors are creaky. I could hear the people upstairs moving around all the time.
All the doors seem to slam shut.
The room furniture, hallway walls, doors are pretty beat up.
My room had a balcony but its ridiculously small. They have 2 chairs and a small table on the balcony that basically take up all of the space.
With the single exception of the mushroom pizza I had at the Fireplace Lounge, the food is terrible. The waiter at Knuckles Sports Bar recommended the Cheesesteak-- I have no idea why. It was dry and bland. The 4 course dinner done by the catering staff was also terrible except for the lemon cheesecake. I'm guessing that came from a vendor.

While I was happy with the bathroom in my room, my co-worker who was in building 1 (I was in 12) was not so happy when what appeared to be (and smelled like) sewage came up from the shower drain and covered the shower floor.

I stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and its been updated since then but it REALLY needs an overhaul now. No way this is a 4 star property in its current condition.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our Sunday night one-night stay was too short but we still left feeling happy and rejuvinated. This resort met or exceeded our expectations in all areas. Our 1st floor room overlooking the golf course was contemporary, comfortable, clean, and VERY quiet. All the staff that we encountered were attentive, professional and friendly.

Some of the things that we especially enjoyed were the HUGE flat screen TV in our room, free use of the nice tennis facility (six courts), two perfectly heated pristene pools/jacuzzis and table tennis. Our only dining experience was the delicious breakfast buffet that we dined at in the main restaurant. It wasn't huge but was high-quality and enjoyable.

My partner and I found the location to be perfect. Only about five minutes drive to downtown, the wharfs & Cannery Row, it was far enough away from the hustle/bustle to be quiet and peaceful. We'll definitely return and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course offer tranquel views and are likely to be more quiet. Parking is conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and mom couldn't decided between a $200+ yurt in Big Sur or finding a place to stay in Monterey. Last minute, we decided to get a Priceline Express deal ($107 with tax and then the $22 nightly resort fee) at the Hyatt Regency. It was very comfortable with a large flat screen TV and two hot tubs, pools, and fire pits on the property. They have a Starbucks and sports bar also. Some units look out on the Del Monte Golf Course. You have to drive to get to downtown Monterey, Cannery Row, and the ocean. This resort is a great break from all the tourist areas with souveniors, etc.

The only negatives: The food is super expensive. The air vents on the walls in the bathroom needed more ways to insulate between rooms. One night we heard people giving their kids a bath; the second we could smell the pot others were enjoying late night.

Building 15 has the fitness center and next to the pool and hot tub that is open later (10pm) The other pool near the registration area has a deep end and looks more family friendly for kids.

Room Tip: Building 15 has fitness room on bottom floor, pool, hot tub, and fire pit are just outside, and is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed here twice before and both times have been relatively good. I haven't experienced any problems. The bed is SUPER comfortable and the gym is pretty nice. The rooms should probably be updated soon due to wear and tear, but it is a convention center, so I can see how they would get run down sooner than the average place. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wow, nothing was good. Took a half hour to check in, no newspapers on site. Gym is a joke with no towels or cleaning cloth, really smelly and small. Additional fee for internet that actually works.

I would prefer the motel down the street next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.