We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Golf Package
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Weekend escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Didn't look at reviews before booking, as our Friday-Saturday event was scheduled for this location, using the Conference Center.

Our 4th floor room was comfortable and used the space well (barndoors for the closet and bathroom entry avoided the possible conflict between entry door and other openings). Agree that the soundproofing is not perfect.

Didn't have a chance to use many of the resort amenities (no comments on golf, pool, spa).

Staff was great, responsive, especially helpful when the barndoor for the bathroom came off the rails and left one person inside stuck. Engineer reset the door, and adjusted something to prevent it happening again. They gave us a certificate that we could use for drinks, a movie, entry to the spa or several other options, to make up for the inconvenience.

We also liked that the windows open to get fresh air.

The Conference Center was consistently cool, so no matter what the outdoor temperature, bring a sweater/shawl/jacket to handle variability in temperature.

As we hadn't made reservations for dinner on Friday night, by the time we decided we were interested in dinner (after the cocktail reception for our event), wait times in town were longer than we cared to face, so we decided to eat at the hotel. We ended up at the sports bar, as the other places had stopped serving. Food and service were fine, but the (predictable) visual and audio stimulation was more than we would have preferred by end of the day.

The room pricing for our event was in line (or less than) similar facilities we've encountered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    554
    395
    189
    139
See reviews for
416
531
58
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family stayed here one night during spring break. We booked online and did not realize how far away from Cannery Row and the aquarium the hotel is. After seeing the crowds we were relieved to escape back to our quiet room. There was no wait at the restaurant. The pool was not crowded. The hotel property offered ping pong tables, chess, and a relaxing fire pit overlooking the golf course. My daughter wanted "one more night, please". Will return on our next trip to Monterey.

Room Tip: You either overlook the golf course or the parking lot. Concierge level rooms overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for a family get away. A few miles from the aquarium and cannery row. Pool and spa area were very nice and had a good happy hour at the bar. Only bad thing is I got the room on priceline and they did not tell me the hotel had a $22 resort fee that everyone had to pay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is right on the golf course, so there are pretty views out most windows and the rooms are nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful, although when ordering takeout from the restaurants to take to our room the orders were not correct both times; once with the wrong salad dressing and the other with a wrong entree. The bartender offered to resubmit the order with the correct entree, but after waiting a long time for our order we didn't want to wait any longer and just ate the mis-ordered entree. It was good, as was all the food we ate at the 3 restaurants within the hotel.

The menu outside the main restaurant is a little misleading as it lists paninis, but paninis are not available for dinner. The breakfast buffet in the main restaurant is fabulous.

The hotel description lists a free airport shuttle, but it is not 24x7. If your flight leaves early, you will need to take a cab for about $13. Shuttle pickup at the airport took a long time (~20-30 minutes), considering the hotel is close to the airport. We were told there was miscommunication between the front desk and the shuttle crew.

Verizon connections within the rooms are poor (1 bar). The hotel has free internet for up to two devices, or you can pay for more devices. The hotel has a business center, but it charges a minimum fee of $5 (10 minute minimum), plus $1 for each page you print. Searching for the hotel printer from our own laptop to print boarding passes was futile, as the printer does not broadcast its ID.

The hotel has a free shuttle to Fisherman's Wharf three times daily. If you enjoy walking, it's not hard to walk to Fisherman's Wharf (~ 1 mile on sidewalks). It is about $10 by cab to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. The Aquarium really is world-class and a must-see!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf courses. Many, but not all rooms, look out onto the golf course which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel with another couple in March. Our brief two night stay was great and here are our overall thoughts:

Pros:
-Hotel was recently renovated so the rooms look incredible
-The room we stayed in was extremely clean with lots of cool, usable modern touches (loved LED reading lamps attached to headboards)
-Responsive staff; all of our requests were handled in a timely and efficient manner

Cons:
-Sound seems to carry from room to room, specifically noise transfer from higher floors to lower floors

I'd recommend staying here with friends or family, but would request a room on a higher floor to avoid noise disturbance from neighbors above.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Tripadvisor reviews are accurate for this location...both the good and the bad, which comes out to make the Hyatt very average for its star rating and rack price.

Here is my contribution: beware of the resort fees! Are you a Priceline person? I am. I do almost all of my booking through them. I have a letter out to them about failure to disclose the "resort" fee at the Hyatt. It is not classified as a resort. Some people have said this is not really a resort, but a converted hotel...I tend to agree.

Bottom line: I had 2 rooms for 2 nights at $100 a piece, via Priceline. It starts out as a good deal. However, I paid $44 per day in resort fees, plus $100 in pet fees and they wanted an extra $5 a day if we had more than one electronic device using wi-fi in each room.

For those on a tight budget, these fees are important to know. Please be advised.

Satisfactory premises, but we will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear jay,

I am sorry to hear about the confusion surrounding the resort fee. As you pointed out, Priceline unfortunately does not disclose resort fees or other facility use charges at the time of booking due to the secrecy they maintain as to which hotel you will be placed at. I apologize if our Front Office team was not as clear as they could have been to describe the resort fee and everything it includes (Internet access, shuttle service to Fisherman’s Wharf, valet and self-parking, airport transportation, etc...) which are all additional charges at most hotels.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit and your time in Monterey.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I probably have high standard in hotel however, I expect bit more at Hyatt.
We checkin around 4 pm and their was only 1 Jacuzzi which was very tiny and packed with kids.
I waited about 40 min until it emptied out and water was dirty with floating stuff and not even hot.
We have 2 little kids and the bed was too small for my family.
Bathroom only had a shower with old towels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Terrigal,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disheartened to hear your stay was not enjoyable. It sounds as though you were not aware we have two pool and hot tub locations on property. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I hope you give our hotel another opportunity whenever your travels bring you back to the area.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.