We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Golf Package
Ranked #34 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, at first sight you get the feel that you have arrived to a winter lodge. It was just as pictured, rooms were spacious, and so was the restroom. The entire property is clean and well kept. I loved that we were on the first floor and had our own patio looking out into the golf course. They also have a gazebo with an outdoor fireplace where you can just hang out and wind down. I saw sunrise from here and it was absolutely beautiful. The hotel has two restaurants one Italian, with a very limited menu and a sports bar. We dined at the sports bar and the food was decent. The hotel also has a wine bar/ winery where as a guest of the hotel you can have a complimentary sample one of their featured wines or you could pay to sample a flight of wines. The hotel is not located near all the main attractions (about 2-3 mi away) and it was difficult to find at night (even with using GPS.) Not usually my preference, but considering that I did not spend the entire time in my hotel room I quickly got over the fact that they allow pets to stay in the rooms. The entire hallway of our floor smelled of dogs. I think that would have to be my only CON. I definitely have to go back and visit Monterrey again…there is just so much to see and do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    480
    354
    176
    130
See reviews for
359
474
54
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

As a LONG time resident of the Monterey Peninsula- we as locals need to know there is a great hotel; reasonable rates; PLEASANT STAFF etc for our many out-of-town guests and occasionally ourselves. Recently we have had a need for a 2-5 night stay twice within the past 9 months for ourselves due to a remodel project here in our home. One due to a leak -other the final wrap up of that project. Both times we have been met with either indifferent or rude staff - from front desk to Mgr on Duty. Hyatt is NOT 'all that'! The rooms are just as dark and dingy as they always have been - even after a huge upgrade of the property.But that said- if the staff were pleasant and accomodating-one overlooks alot. Even those answering the phones are awful. Abrupt & rude. So- GO TO THE MRY PLAZA HOTEL!!! We are!They are lovely and have a 'locals' rate. All of our guests, ourselves, strangers on the street, will go there from now on. Hyatt - step it up! Go back to your Customer Relations training classes. I know you have 'built-in' revenue from the DOD w/ NPS and how sad for them. Even more sad is Tusca is very good as are the staff there. Follow their lead. You might learn something about the HOSPITALITY Business.

Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Great experience ! Restaurant , food was Exelent ! Rooms clean and spacious !!
Very impressed !! People are friendly . From the moment I arrived I had a good feeling about the place. Prices are very reasonable!
Lots of green. Beautiful fire place . Wonderful deco. And they accept dogs!
I will come back !!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel was easy to navigate to. The check in staff were friendly & helpful.
The property has a lovely feel.
The rooms are spacious & ours opened out to the pool area.
The executive lounge was a lovely area with great service from an attentive hostess.
The beds really let the stay down. I woke after a night sleep with aches & pains from a bad bed & bad pillow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel many times, but I found out that building 3 smells like they have a sewer problem. I had the same problem two months ago, same building and told them, but no change. I went into other buildings and it smells cleaner. So heads up, stay away from building 3! Besides the smell, the rooms are nice, but no tub.
The breakfast is great! Staff are nice! Pool is great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just came back from a week stay here. The weather was beautiful and this hotel is very well located to everywhere in the Monterey area. The room was dated, but clean and provided all the necessities, but there were glaring deficiencies. The door restraint that secures the door when you in was broken and there was a hole in the sink that was crudely repaired. I always thought the Hyatt Regency had a certain cache to it, but where it mostly showed was when we looked closely. The pathways were always littered with leaves; they mowed the grass, but neglected to blow the pathways, so when going to the pool we tracked the leaves into the water. It made for a overall messy appearance in otherwise well designed grounds.
To there credit the service was exceptional, very friendly and willing to help solve any wrinkle. I was very interested in continuing my P90X program with there, but while I expected to have a place to do some yoga and plyometrics etc. the one room was too crowded with gym equipment and the spa wanted to charge $20 per person per day to use the sauna and I didn't see any kind of "quiet" room to stretch out and feel comfortable. I think it is mainly for treatments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the less well appointed Hyatts. It's not bad but the rooms are a little tired. The staff were very helpful and friendly though. Agree with other comments about the resort fee - just include it in the price if it is mandatory and stop annoying your customers with the $20 surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.