We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #34 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the less well appointed Hyatts. It's not bad but the rooms are a little tired. The staff were very helpful and friendly though. Agree with other comments about the resort fee - just include it in the price if it is mandatory and stop annoying your customers with the $20 surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    437
    321
    163
    126
See reviews for
339
434
50
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our family stayed at this hotel, during our two week tour of California. We had stayed at several other Hyatt's during our trip and they were quite nice. We checked into this hotel in the later evening. After finding our way to the outer building in the dark, the next adventure was finding our room on the second floor, after taking the sewage smelling stairwell up.
Once we got to the room it felt like we were staying in a trailer home. The walls seemed paper thin. You could here guests in the rooms around you. The toilet seemed like it was a quick put together module, of very little elegance.
During the night the screens were not fit properly so we had insects visiting us in the room, and had bites the next day. Food was good but quite pricey. The positive was the staff was friendly. After all the nice Hyatt's this came as a complete surprise and disappointment for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arroyo grande
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency last week. The "Regency" brand of Hyatt Hotels usually denotes the utmost in luxury and accomodation. The Monterey location supposedly underwent a multi-million dollar renovation, however it remains an "old" hotel. It is situated in a beautifully wooded area and surreounded by a pristine golf course, however that is where the "luxury" ends. The hotel 's exterior remains extremely "dated" and has the smell and appearance of an aging resort. The rooms have definitely been upgraded since I last stayed there 25 years ago, however that, too, is somewhat limited. The walls between the rooms remain paper thin and you can actually hear people conversing in the rooms on either side of your own. If you are on the first or second floor, you can hear every move of the guests above you. In our case, it was a family of five crammed into one room. The confirmation of room rate and tax omitted a "resort fee" of $22 dollars per day, even if you do not use any of the resort amenities. There was a major on site event at the hotel on Saturday night and parking was very difficult to find. The hotel is in an isolated area, which eliminates the possibility of parking "off site." I have stayed at many other Hyatt Regency hotels, and can attest that this one is a "Regency" in name only.

Room Tip: There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed there with my family for one night whilst doing a self drrive from LA to San Francisco along Hwy 1. This place had been strongly recommended to us at the time of booking the holiday.

The reception area is very modern, however that is where it stopped for us. The room was very average and dated and quite a distance from the reception. Also as we were on the second floor, it is a bit of convoluted effort to get to the lift with your luggage etc. There is no AC in the rooms, however there was a overly large evaporative cooler unit which took up a fair amount of floor space in an otherwise average size room. We didn't need to run same, so I'm not sure how efficient or quite it would be. It is a quite a distance (car/Taxi requried) from the main tourist area (Cannery Row).

Staff were polite, but not overly helpful. We had booked a room for four people, however it only had three towels, two cups etc. This is annoying when the booking is clearly for four people and if you have something brought to your room, the person bringing same expects a tip.

Having travelled a lot for work, it is clear that this resort is geared towards the conference crowd, or golfers (given the large golf course on the grounds). If you are a family, or a couple you would probably do better staying elsewhere.

Overall it is OK, however there appeared to be other places which

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was my first time at this hotel, and I was shocked by how large the property is. I parked (relatively) close to the lobby, but then ended up walking a long ways to my room from there-- it was 5-10 minutes away from the front desk. I was surprised to see hotel personnel riding in golf carts to get from place to place, but in retrospect, it makes perfect sense. As a woman traveling alone, I wish I had asked the front desk to put me in the main building, but the property was perfectly safe, so it all worked out fine.

On the plus side, I was in the same building as the fitness center, so I was able to squeeze in a workout. The gym was spacious and clean, and there was no wait for any of the cardio machines. The room was also quite spacious and clean.

It was decent enough, but nothing really special. I booked this hotel at the last minute, and got a reasonable rate, so it was fine for me.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building to avoid a long trek to your room across the property.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garden city
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for three nights but never really understood what was so great about it. The room was spacious but other hotels beat the pants off this one when it comes to cleanliness. It looked as thought it had undergone some remodel and was very contemporary,but, overall it just didn't do anything for me. If you want to use their restaurant or visit their gift shop you might walk half a block or more depending on where your room is located. I was told I could purchase pain reliever in the gift shop but couldn't find it. I was told by concierge that the gift shop was called the "Winery Tasting Studio" - go figure. If your room is on an upper floor, you have to walk and find the elevator to take you up because each section doesn't have its own. The walls must be paper thin because I could here the neighbors phone conversation word-for-word. You should know that the rooms don't have air conditioning. There are suggestions posted for getting and maintaining a cooler room. This would have been a problem had we stayed any other time of the year. All this being said the rate of $149 was a fair one I suppose for being this close to the coast.

Room Tip: Try to get nearer the lobby if you are going to use the restaurant and try to get a room on the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a few nights while visiting the Big Sur and Carmel/Monterey area. It was a nice experience even though we didn't spend much time at the property. We enjoyed the spaciousness of a suite in the evening. Food at Knuckles (the sports bar) was good and the staff was very nice. Be forewarned - there is no air conditioning in the hotel rooms. They recommend opening windows and using ceiling fans. This could be a problem if you are prone to allergies/asthma.

Room Tip: We had a room close to the lobby which was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel
Hyatt Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca
Hyatt Regency Monterey
Monterey Hyatt
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#29 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.