We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to visit Carmel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Golf Package
Ranked #33 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Novato
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good location to visit Carmel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I have been a Hyatt Gold Passport member for almost twenty years, so I usually like to stay at Hyatt hotels when I travel for both business and pleasure. In all my experiences with Hyatt, this particular property is the most mediocre hotel I have ever stayed at. Even though they just finished a major renovation not too long ago, the place still seems very tired. The staff is friendly enough, but no one stood out as going the extra step to make the guest feel welcome. I was attending a conference in the area and was looking forward to seeing all the improvements they had done since my last visit years ago. I was rather surprised to see that it basically seemed about the same as it always was. The room I stayed in was near the pool and the kids running around we're intolerable. When I complained about the crying babies and unsupervised children running down the hallways, I was told the family was here for a few days and there hadn't been any complaints. I tried to make the best of it and went out for a late dinner, hoping they would be asleep when I returned. The next day the "family" had checked out, so evidently I wasn't the only one to complain. This hotel is a great value if you are in the area to enjoy Monterey and Carmel, but if you want a quiet and romantic spot, it would be best to spend the extra money and stay a the Hyatt Highlands in Carmel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    500
    371
    181
    132
See reviews for
386
493
55
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

we spent one night at the hyatt carmel highlands and one at this property. I was surprised how old and dirty our unit was. We had a unit facing the golf course which also looked like it was in need of attention. the hyatt regency brand used to mean quality but this does not apply to this property. there are better choices in monterey. overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel had a lovely grounds and a very well kept golf course, the facilities (swimming pool, gym and spa) were great, modern and clean. The bedrooms were very comfortable and ours room had sliding doors straight onto the golf course which was lovely to be able to sit out and view the landscapes, The bathroom was large with walk in showers and big vanity area.
The Food was good from the sports bar, however the resturant was slightly over priced for the food sold, great lobby area with lots of seating and fireplace.
Would visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have the patio doors - really nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently my husband and I spent our 1 year “anniversamoon” travelling up the Pacific Coast Highway and stopped in Monterey, CA. We had the luxury of staying at the Hyatt Regency on Del Monte Golf Course. Upon check-in we were assisted by front desk agent Robert. He was very friendly and personable, and offered us exclusive access to the Regency Club.


When we arrived to our room, we were surprised with a bottle of champagne and a note from Concierge Diane. Being a Concierge myself, I had called in advance and spoke with Diane to get a few recommendations on area attractions and dining options. Diane was more than accommodating and mapped out our entire trip, giving us excellent ideas and suggestions. Her service and demeanor was beyond exceptional.


Our favorite amenity the hotel offered was definitely the Regency Club where every morning we enjoyed a continental breakfast. Amanda who worked inside the Club was so sweet and very efficient.

I would highly recommend this hotel for couples or families who are looking for a nice, quiet place with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I rolled into town on a Thurs night and went to StarBucks to find a place to stay. I did a bid on name your own price on Priceline for this hotel. I got it for 80 dollars.. Quite a deal. When we got there, we were really surpised what we got for the price. Really nice. WE swam in the warm pool. Sat in their nice Hot Tub and then sat around the huge Fire they had there by the pool. I definetely would stay again. It is a huge Hotel and there were LOTs of people staying there. We didn't eat at the resturants, but it sure looked nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Amazing hotel on a golf course with a fireplace in the lobby and beautiful grounds. Great location right off of a major highway, easy to drive to and a quick drive to downtown for shopping and restaurant options. We were away for a week, driving down the PCH, and this was our favorite hotel. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We live on the Monterey Bay and we stay at the Hyatt 2 or 3 times a year. It's the perfect place for an overnight, greatly preferable to any of the other "chain" hotels in the area: clean spacious rooms, attractive location next to the golf course, and the service is always excellent.

Room Tip: Get the Regency Club upgrade if you can: the evening reception is much better than average and you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.