We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place near Pebble Beach and Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #34 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eckernforde, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place near Pebble Beach and Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed there for one night. the room wasu big, the amenities we're good. We even received free breakfast vouchers as we could not be upgraded to the exec floor due to renovations going on. They have two very different restaurants: one classy style, good wine and classic food restaurant serving bread and olive oil / vinegar before dinner, the other one a noisy and funny sports bar with good margaritas and bar food.
Directly behind the hotel is a golf cours where the terrace ends about 20m from the 17th green. the good news is: the terrace is out of bounds ...

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the golf course or parking .as the highway is right in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    437
    321
    163
    126
See reviews for
339
434
50
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Service was excellent , hotel room was excellent and loved the location. Will go back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
It was interesting checking in just like the airlines. There is an automated kiosk, so we literally checked ourselves in without talking to anyone. If you like more personal service, this might be a downer! But there were staff available to assist you if you need to.
We stayed at building 18, even though the exterior looked somewhat old, but the interior is nicely updated. Nice contemporary decor. Just a warning, the double bed is actually a full-size not queen size, so it's a bit cramped for adults. We wanted to add a roll-away bed, however, due to fire code, it wasn't possible to do so. But we were able to get a crib which worked out fine for us.
Room service was great. Love the mushroom risotto!
We also used the swimming pool which is nicely heated. The pool area is a bit smaller than shown on the picture, but adequate for quick swim.
The location is just few minutes drive to the main tourist area in Monterey - Aquarium and Fisherman's wharf. Very convenient.
Breakfast is also decent at the hotel.
Do have to watch out for the $20 resort fee as an add-on charge.

Room Tip: Consider getting a room away from the freeway facing the golf course if possible. It's more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed at the Monterey Hyatt Regency for a business trip during the week. This location has pretty easy access to the highway, but the first time to the hotel was a little confusing so use your GPS or the hotel's instructions. Easy check-in/check-out with very attentive clerks, but you also have an option to check-in/check-out via an easy kiosk, but I didn't need to use it because the clerks were eager to help. The resort is set out lodge-style, with 20-some buildings that require you to drive to your building after you check in. Although the walk is not far regardless of where you final unit is located, you'll still need either a car or the bell boys to shuttle your luggage.

Rooms are decent and modern, but the showers are terrible. The hotel touts a "rain shower" but the shower head is hard to move and there is a half glass wall that does not have a door and is open to the rest of the bathroom that leaves the floor a sopping mess. No tub.

A few more tips:

- No AC, so open your sliding door to get some air circulating, the climate is cool with a nice breeze
- If you have an early meeting agenda, order the room service breakfast and request that it is delivered early, the hotel restaurants do not open until 7 am
- Request a top floor room far from the elevators so you can get some sleep if you are easily bothered by noise

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the highway on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent a night in Monterey between stays at San Fran and Napa. This is not a 4 star hotel. The cheap furniture was on its last leg. It was dirty with hair in bathroom and water rings throughout the room. The TV was unplugged and we had to call the front desk. I felt like I was in a parking garage walking up the steps. I could have used the dated elevator but that was two buildings away. The shower was the only saving grace. They have used their renovation budget to update the showers. I mentioned the TV and concerns at check out but to no avail. They only cared about getting the $22 resort fee. Disappointing and NOT a VALUE.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed overnight July, 2012 on points. The room was very nice, modern, roomy with a great comfortable bed and pillows. It was the best bed we slept on all week. Unfortunately we were put on the back side in Building 22 facing the interstate which was just on the other side of a bush row. The room was noisy! We figured it was because it was a free night stay. We didn't complain, just used ear plugs. If you stay, be sure and ask for a room away from the interstate!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate if you don't want to hear traffic all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel in Monterey and wished I had the opportunity of staying for several more days. The room was spacious, modern, immaculate with a most comfortable bed and pillows, a combination I don’t get often when travelling as the pillows in particular are always a problem for me. Luxurious bed linen and a bed that looked so neat and perfect, it was a pity to open it but I knew I was going to get a good night’s sleep in this hotel! We had dinner in the Award Winning Knuckles Sports Bar, far too noisy with so many TV sets hanging on the wall showing different sports while the people who watched them had to comment in a loud voice to be heard, but that’s what a Sports Bar is about. We were tired and hungry so we decided to stay and try the food there, it was really good, generous servings, very tasty and a very nice service indeed. It compensated for the unpleasant noise. I didn’t have the time to explore any of its many services in depth and only had a quick glance at them but if the room and the lobby are anything to go by, and I have no doubt they are, this is a grand hotel. The relaxing surroundings are part of its beauty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel
Hyatt Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca
Hyatt Regency Monterey
Monterey Hyatt
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#29 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list