We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for pets and families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Golf Package
Ranked #33 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good place for pets and families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Got a good deal for this place on Hotwire for President's weekend. The hotel is set up more like a lodge than a typical Hyatt with plenty of parking. Nice fireplaces and views of the golf course. Heated pool and good jacuzzi, but not very relaxing because of the kids playing. Rooms were very clean and modern, and bed was quite comfy. The roads around the hotel are a bit confusing, but it is a short drive to the aquarium, Carmel, wharf, etc. It's a good mid-range hotel in between the cheap motels and super-expensive spa resorts in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    495
    369
    179
    131
See reviews for
381
490
54
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The rooms were very clean and nice. The walk-in shower looked new, and it had a waterfall head. Unfortunately, the building I was in did not have A/C which surprised me due to the cost of the room. The room did have a large ceiling fan that worked very well, but I could not leave the screen door open since my room was on the first floor and right next to the pool. The housekeeping staff were very nice and do an excellent job. I always say this, but housekeepers should be tipped, too. The lobby staff was very nice and helpful, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C if you have to stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have to admit that I read all the reviews on this hotel and still booked it. There was one factor that pushed me which was we brought our dog. It was also a holiday weekend. It was my daughter, my husband and myself on this trip. Gosh, I don't know where to begin it was not a great hotel stay for the price. Upon arrival and at check in I asked for a room facing a golf course and on the top floor. Both of those items were denied as the front desk clerk said that those are upgrades and if they weren't offered when you reserved then they weren't available. I checked in and we went to our room on the 3rd floor. Yes, not convenient with a pet but oh well. We also booked a package and she said nothing about the tickets for the aquarium or the breakfast that was included. So we had to go back to the front desk again and ask about these things. Very inconvenient. Our room was in bldg 12 which wasn't on the main highway but you could still very much hear the traffic - all night long. The rooms have no a/c. You have to keep the window open or it is very very hot in the rooms. There are double beds and that it quite inconvenient. As well... the bathroom has this japanese type screen slider door. That is correct folks - not a real door that closes. Everyone in the room with you will hear your personal business while in the bathroom. As well, there is no door on the shower. There is a small glass divider that is half way across the shower stall. It is ridiculous. The rooms were old, not really kept up. Honestly, I relayed to the front desk clerk that I had read a lot of reviews online and she said you cannot really beleive all that sometimes. IN this case, it is all true. Since the rooms are small, dingy and loud with no a/c - that is the bad. Now the good - the rooms have coffee provided and there was a small refrigerator in the room also the staff are all nice. The lobby and the bartenders and outside amenities are beautiful. The breakfast buffet in the hotel is really good. The staff in the dining room are wonderful. It was worth it. The other thing is that in the lobby is a winery called McIntyre that offers hotel guests a free wine tasting of one wine and then there is a flight you can purchase. It was great and nice right at the hotel so you could have the experience and not have to leave the hotel. The one thing that I would tell anyone who plans to go into town that this hotel is NOT within walking distance to the wharf or cannery row. They have a planned shuttle that goes around 10, 1, 4 and 7 drops off at the wharf and then you can take a free trolley or walk to cannery row. Otherwise, plan on spending 11 or 12 bucks for a cab everytime you want to go into town. There is a great sushi place called Crystal Sushi and it is only 2 blocks north of cannery row. Overall a good weekend except for our hotel. The reviews on trip advisor are usually right on - I should have known better.

Room Tip: Select golf course room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear DKVogel0810,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit. I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of McIntyre Vineyards Tasting Room in our main lobby. It is a great feature and very convenient. The breakfast buffet is also very popular and I am so glad you had an outstanding dining experience. I am disheartened to hear that your overall stay was less than satisfactory due to noise and lack of air conditioning. Please accept my apologies and trust that these issues are currently being addressed and corrected. Thank you for your kind comments about our hardworking team and beautiful outdoor amenities. I hope that you will consider Hyatt Regency Monterey again whenever your travels bring you back to the area.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Not pleased. Room was very loud, located next to highway 1. Hotel was fully booked so as platinum member, we were basically given motel room located on the highway. There was no a/c and we couldn't open windows at night because of highway noise and our balcony was right next to pool - easy access. Value was expensive, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I spent a weekend here and found peaceful walks, restful massages and great food. I just wanted to get away from everything in LA and escape from the world. It was clam and peaceful. i highly recommend enjoying this experience.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel and entire property is beautiful and tranquil. The hotel is divided into different buildings of I think only 3 levels each. The room was very nice and relaxing. Beds and pillows were comfortable; room was a little spacious for a normal-sized room; and the bathroom was really nice - beautiful shower and sink. The pool area was cool and spacious, there was even an almost human-sized chess board to play on the pool deck.

The only weird thing was that it was kind of difficult to find the room. The buildings are paired in twos by a bridge and if you're in the second building you have to enter thru the first building and go up the elevator and down the hall of the first building, exit, cross a bridge, then enter the next building to find your room. The concierge did NOT explain this very well and there are no big signs explaining this so we were wandering the halls and different floors for a good 5 minutes or so trying to find our room. I blame poor planning and design, as well as the front desk personnel who need to explain this better and not mumble, but speak more clearly and not rush through things.

Otherwise, very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, ENGLAND
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent five nights here and wished we hadn't. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff are all friendly people and try to be helpful, with what they have to work with - which frankly isn't much.
This hotel is nothing like the pro photos indicate. Time was when the Hyatt Regency brand meant a luxurious 4-star you could rely on. Not here. This place has a reception building that is fairly OK, but all the accommodation is in wooden bunkhouses, basically shacks which remind me of some sort of youth camp or worse. The one we were in had no elevator but was linked to another building by a walkway, so every time we entered we had to walk to the other one to go up or down. These places are very old and very worn. The elevator had a carpet which stank of old beer and who knows what else. There is no modern aircon, or anything else.
The restaurant is very limited, and I am being kind here. The place was full of people sent there on seminars, mixed with a few families with kids who were allowed to scream and shout at the pool until midnight.
The location is convenient for the freeway, or a round of golf, nothing else. Its miles from downtown Monterey or Cannery Row or Carmel. And it wasn't at a giveaway price either.
All in all I cannot find anything to recommend going to this place. I have stayed in many Hyatts; this is by far the worst. I shall now view future Hyatts with deep suspicion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.