We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Guarantee Of Reservations” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cannery Row Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cannery Row Inn to your Saves list
Cannery Row Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Foam St, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
fresno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Guarantee Of Reservations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We booked a room here for our daughter and son in law for their birthdays. It was kind of last minute and there was no avaialability at the hotel we were staying at which was the Monterey Bay Inn. They had stayed here a couple years back and were pleased with the room and cleanliness so we thought it woud be perfectly fine. I booked it a week in advance and when we went to check in the front desk girl was extremely rude and un helpful and they had no record of our reservation. It was our fault to have left the confirmation number at home, however they had already charged my credit card for the night! Even with proof of this she continued to ask over and over again, ''are you sure it was the Cannery Row Inn?" She also kept saying how weird it was that they had nothing under our name and that they don't think we actually made the reservation for this hotel. HELLO? My credit card statement said Cannery Row Inn, Foam Street!! Never did she ever appoligize for the inconvenience, offer to find us another hotel, or anything. After going back and fourth for about 30 minutes I had to just leave when she started insisting we must have already stayed another night during a previous weekend. It was CRAZY and I felt like someone was playing a joke on us. She also said they could not reverse the charge on my card and that someone would have to call me back. Later a manager called and said he would reverse the charge but that it could take up to seven days. Now I have to wait and see if that will even happen, and just because they said they will does not change the fact that the funds are being held on my credit card, lowering my balance and we had to find and pay for another one. This whole problem took over about two hours of our 1 night trip but were happy to find a room at the Otter Inn where they explained to us that this happens there all of the time. We will be making a complaint to the BBB.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    61
    21
    21
See reviews for
32
103
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

While really more like an older motel, it is still nice, and very good value. The location is right at the beginning of Cannery Row, and it's easy to walk to the main shopping area and the Monterey Aquarium. You are so close to the ocean, so it's nice to just meander and relax.

The complimentary continental breakfast was a very pleasant surprise - a range of breads, pastries and cereals - much more than I expected.

The room was large, and the free wireless internet worked well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We had a long travel day and on arriving we were told our Saturday night stay would be almost $400. The desk clerk was rude and wanted me to initial the rate. I did get it down $100 and later after asking to speak with the manager they came down another $50. This was still over $50 more than I was told on the phone. I would suggest having them email you the quoted rates. The room was clean but the bathroom was small with little counter space.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, Montana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Even with a confirmation number, they did not have our reservations and then called and referred us to a motel they "use to own." The Manager had not called the Otter Inn (one lie) and they did NOT use to own the motel (lie # two) they sent us to. It was a very busy weekend and thank goodness the Otter Inn had one room left or our vacation with all the planning would have been ruined. I do not know what good confirmation numbers are if the motel does not stand behind them. I would not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This place is disgusting. Me and boyfriend stayed at the room #103 for one night(August 2-3rd, 2010) and got bitten by their bed bugs. Following morning we filed a complaint about the their bed bug infestations and they didn't seem to care. Even the shift manager didn't want to step up and talk to us face to face. This nasty incident is causing us a lot of trouble. We had to throw away things we brought in to that hotel including the clothes that we had on and it also made me physically sick (gastritis- upset stomach because of worrying too much about potential bed bugs 'travel' issue). We discovered at least 2 bed bugs and took a picture and recorded a video of crawling bed bug.

I will let everyone I know about this hotel and will post more feedbacks at the major websites.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We arrive late in town and took a room here. It is a little run down and not a good deal. Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Clean, quiet large room within walking distance to Cannery Row. King room with very comfy bed and a fireplace, with a large bathroom. Very plain continental breakfast, but the lovely outdoor courtyard to eat it in was lovely. It was a little noisy in the morning with traffic, but would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cannery Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Row Inn

Address: 200 Foam St, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannery Row Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cannery Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Row Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannery Row Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.