We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cannery Row Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cannery Row Inn to your Saves list
Cannery Row Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Foam St, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Touristy but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Better than fisherman's wharf, but you can easy see both in 1 evening. Cannery row has more/better options for food and drink. Tons of souvenir shops. Easy to get to from the bike path. We liked the cannery row brewery. They don't brew anything there but they did have a large draft and bottle selection

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    73
    64
    21
    21
See reviews for
32
111
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

A salutary lesson in booking early for a busy place (and being aware that over a weekend many hotels in this area have 2 night minimum policies). The whole place is a run down shabby mess. There is no key access to the doors so all the access is left open all night so anyone can walk into the hotel. Carpets are threadbare and the rooms themselves are dark and gloomy. No air conditioning at all. The whole family could not wait to get out. Only upside is that it is a short walk to the aquarium and you can get very close to some seals if you take a short walk to the nearby harbour as they lounge on the rocks near to the walkway

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agua Dulce, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We've stayed here on a number of occasions because of the great location. Easy walking distance to the attractions on Cannery Row and an easy walk along the water to the Wharf attractions. First night we had a room that faced the patio. This hotel does not have air conditioning (we were aware of that) but the only way for air circulation is to open the sliding door. The patio was open to many other rooms and we didn't feel secure and lots of street noise. Next night we switched to a room in the back...much better. Less street noise (area back to the walking/biking path) and a separate secure balcony allowed us to leave the door open for air circulation. Hotel has gotten a bit run down in the last couple of years. Not sure I'll stay here again. A few other hotels in the area--we'll probably try something else.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side adjacent to the bike/walk path. They are quieter and you can open t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here because everything else was booked solid. I go to Monterey 4 or 5 times a year and I will never stay here again. The lobby and rooms are extremely hot. I asked for a fan, they didn't have one. I went to CVC to buy a small fan. There is no air conditioning. Opening the sliding door is not safe because it is right on the street. The patio furniture is filthy old plastic. There was no hot water in the sink. The shower had hot water. The sat. TV did not work. The sitting chair has a large rip in it. The carpets are stained. Our room was 103, do not let them put you in there. There may be better rooms, but ours was bad. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We just needed a place for sleep over and with easy and free parking. The Inn has large rooms and comfortable beds. It was clean and suited our purpose fine! The breakfast was simple but with fresh fruits it was ok. It was also close to the harbour and the aquarium.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This inn isn't anything fancy, but the room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom had been recently updated, we had a view of the ocean, and the location on the walking/biking trail between Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf was exceptionally convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

weird hotel. Nice shower great location. That's all! When we booked we saw pics of a pool. We packed our suits and had the kids excited to swim. NO POOL. They filed it with concrete to make a patio. We have five in our family. They only would give us three towels for our showers. Carpets were stained. I found a small bug of some sort on my bed. We paid 200.00 After tax. I would of went somewhere else if I hadn't of driven three hours with three kids. All I can say is ewwwww
Stayed in room 204 or 206 I can't remember. But really it doesn't matter because I won't come back. Please look at the holiday express. It's close and it has got to be better

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cannery Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Row Inn

Address: 200 Foam St, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannery Row Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cannery Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Row Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannery Row Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.