We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jabberwock Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Jabberwock Inn to your Saves list
The Jabberwock Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   598 Laine St, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

This is one of the most welcoming B&Bs we have ever stayed in. John and Dawn treat guests as guests to their home rather than business. They are lovely hosts, ever helpful. They go out of their way to introduce guests to each other at the evening social, a choice of food, plenty of wine etc. There is tea, coffee, cookies, cakes available at all hours, a fridge full of soft drinks for guests to taken whenever plus brandy in the rooms. The rooms are quirky and fun, a slight downside is hat the baths are in the rooms – we would have preferred separate bathrooms but given all the pluses this really is minor quibble. This was easily one of the favourite B&Bs of our two week trip to the US west coast and we wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone, it’s fabulous.

  • Liked — The warm welcome and hosts
  • Disliked — Baths in rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    34
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
16
269
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

My husband and I had a great weekend getaway in Monterey thanks to the great hospitality of John and Dawn at the Jabberwock Inn. The food and wine was fantastic. They had great recommendations for dinner locations -- and menus of just about any restaurant you would be interested in going to. The bed was as comfortable as any we have ever slept in -- goose down pillows and comforters. Windows brought in the nice bay breeze and great views of Monterey Bay from most of the bedrooms. The Wabe is the *only* room without a view of the Bay (to my knowledge), but is slightly larger than the sister 3rd floor room, the Mimsy. Make sure to bring conditioner and lotion (there aren't any luxury toiletries in the bathrooms).

Spent the weekend meeting lots of honeymooners and others passing through on epic tours of California. Had a great time -- would highly recommend it to others staying the Monterey/Pacific Grove area.

  • Liked — Service and staff
  • Disliked — Steep hill to entrance
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed for two nights here this July and from the minute we arrived we knew we were being welcomed into another world - one of homely comforts and hospitality. The Jabberwock Inn takes B & B's onto another level. John and Dawn made us so welcome with all the extra little touches they provide. The wine and nibbles they provide at 5 pm are a great way to meet the other guests and get suggestions for dinner - they have menus from pretty much all the restaurants in Monterey and suggest what would suit best and will make reservations for you. Their suggestions are spot on. Their location is brilliant if you want to stroll downhill three blocks or so to Cannery Row and the Aquarium and shopping/restaurant area. A great find.

  • Liked — Dawn and John's hospitality
  • Disliked — Squeaky bed frames - soon sorted with a bit of DIY!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

Just returned from 2 nights, and there are not enough words to describe the ambience and all of the special amentities provided with geniune care by the owners Dawn and John.
The Jabberwok certainly lived up to all of its billings and has raised the bar for stays at any other B & B.

  • Liked — The personal touch and attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

From the moment you walk into the house you can't help but notice the quirky little bits and pieces that make this house stand-out. From the backward clocks, rust sculptures and quaint rooms it really is a fabulous house. After a long day driving we loved to be welcomed by glasses of wine and nibbles, and the welcome was warm. Is a short stumble to the restuarants of Cannery Row (with dozens of places to eat) and only a couple of minutes to the aquarium. We stayed in the Mimsy room right at the top, which gave us a view of the sea and we kept the curtains open at night to be awoken by the fantastic sunrise in the morning!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed in this great inn while we were touring the US. Great decor, complimentary wine, snacks, beverages, brandy (in the room), internet, all you would wish for. It is the attention to detail that really counts, they had the menus of all local restaurants on file, which made selecting a restaurant for the evening very relaxed and nearly risk free.

The breakfast was very original, but of the typical American size (massive). We couldn’t event finish half of it.

Regardless, it was a shame we only stayed for the night as we were driving down to LA. The owners advised us to drive the ’17 mile drive’, which was a great idea as it is the home of the famous Pebble Beach golf course.

  • Liked — Attential to detail
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed at the Jabberwock Inn in November 2006 and absolutely loved our stay there. The inn was adorable, with a comfortable sitting room that was open to guests. The entire inn featured many Lewis Carrol-related trinkets, as could be expected from the inn's name.

We stayed in the Toves room, which was fabulous. It had an incredibly comfortable Sleep Number king-sized mattress, with the ability to set each side of the bed at a different level of firmness. (We are very picky about our beds, and we thrilled with the one in our room.) We also had a large Jacuzzi tub in the room. I find that often when hotels advertise a Jacuzzi tub it ends up being a standard-sized tub with a few water jets built-in. This was the real deal--a two-person tub and really quite large.

The room also had a small table in a tiny garden outside of the room, which was nice for sitting and eating dessert we had purchased at a restaurant and brought back with us.

The location of the hotel is wonderful--you can walk right to downtown Monterey and the aquarium. If we are ever in the area again, I would stay here without hesitation.

  • Liked — The comfy bed, the Jacuzzi, the breakfast, the decor, the location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jabberwock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jabberwock Inn

Address: 598 Laine St, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jabberwock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This craftsman-style home awaits you, gardens entice you, rooms overlook the bay, some with fireplaces and Jacuzzis, down comforters snuggle you in, and faint sounds of sea lions bark you to sleep. Imagine awaking to hints of breakfast wafting up the stairwell, 5 o'clock wine and nibblers, cookies and milk at bedtime. Imagine...Walking to the Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman Wharf or biking along 17-Mile Drive, browsing Carmel shops. Imagine...Falling into the rabbit hole and finding The Jabberwock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Jabberwock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jabberwock Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jabberwock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.