We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite B&B In North America!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jabberwock Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Jabberwock Inn to your Saves list
The Jabberwock Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   598 Laine St, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct = Best Rates
Ranked #2 of 12 Monterey B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My Favorite B&B In North America!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed here about 7-8 times through the years, and have never been disappointed. The staff, the accomidations, the food, the evening cheese and sherry, the evening milk & cookies .... all first-rate. The location is a short walk from the heart of Cannery Row & the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms involve climbing stairs (there is only one room that is bottom floor level, so eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    33
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
16
260
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Having flicked through the rest of the reviews there is not much to add except that the vast majority of them are accurate - a truly lovely place. I'm prompted to add a review because I turned up with a food allergy (gluten) and they could not have been more accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble, it was a really nice experience. I'm send my parents there in March next year (2013). Just lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

With our "hospitality" industry's scientific, standardized planning of hotel rooms down to the soap bar size, it can be a wonderful respite to enjoy a highly rated, homey B&B in a beautiful place like Monterey. The Jabberwock has been in business for many years (five under the ownership of the current innkeepers) in an early 1900's, large arts & craft mansion. Cannery Row and the world-famous Aquarium are only four easy-walking blocks away. The breakfasts are top-of-the game, and it's nice to have sherry in your room and home-baked cookies always available. But what makes the Jabberwock very special are the people: the innkeepers and the guests. You will not find a more friendly, caring and efficient pair of innkeepers--John and Dawn--who instantly remember your name (it's also on a white board along with your residence city for all to see). Although we were only there two nights, the guests we met both at breakfast and the evening social hour were a delightfully interesting mix of people from all sorts of places and backgrounds; conversation flowed about both serious (politics even given the recent national election) and fun topics of the day. That's probably our biggest reason why we deviate from hotels from time to time, because we like talking with interesting people. Like all B&B's in big, historic houses, there is a wide variety of rooms (and prices) to pick from. Reading the inn's website and talking with the innkeepers will lead you to a room that you will like. We happily stayed in a mid-sized room with a gas fireplace and a great view of the bay. A bonus to all of this is that unlimited, on-street parking is almost always available in front of the inn.

Room Tip: Read website and discuss your particular likes with innkeepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our honeymoon and it was amazing! Everything you would want to see is a short walk away; John and Dawn made us feel right at home. With the delicious breakfasts, hor d'oeuvres, and cookies before bed we felt absolutely spoiled. We will never forget our perfect honeymoon and will definitely be staying at the Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What good fortune that we found this beautiful place to stay for our elopement. Dawn and John add a new dimension to hosting, and it's clear that they genuinely enjoy their "work". This delightful inn is superbly appointed with antiques and whimsy; the spacious bridal suite features a lovely view of the bay and the most awesome bathtub on the planet. We particularly enjoyed the imaginative and tasty treats from the kitchen: breakfasts were extraordinary, as were the hors d'oeuvres at 5, the homemade limoncello and cookies after dinner. Even as newlyweds we enjoyed the company of our fellow Jabberwockers during meals and while sipping wine in the parlor. Everything about this place exceeded all our expectations!! Dawn even offered to be the witness and photographer for our wedding ceremony at Lovers' Point! Thank you for creating such a magical experience for us- one that we look forward to repeating each year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Jabberwock while on a road trip from San Diego to San Francisco celebrating our 40th anniversary with another couple. We were only able to stay one night but from checkin to checkout, our experience was superb. The owners went out of their way to make our short stay memorable. The afternoon wine and appetizers were a nice touch. We were on the third floor in two rooms with a shared sitting room. Although these two rooms were small, they were very comfortable. The inn is within walking distance to the aquarium and the waterfront. We are looking forward to returning to Monterey and the Jabberwock. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Jabberwock is the way a Bed & Breakfast should be! The home was beautiful, the food was outstanding and our hosts - Dawn and John - were absolutely lovely! We stayed there for 3 days as our best friends were married there in the courtyard. Our room was so comfortable, great views of the bay, and everytime we opened the door we could smell something good cooking or baking! The best of being home - but away from home! The Jabberwock is very relaxing and informal, and close to downtown Monterey, Cannery Row, and walking along the coast. I am so looking forward to going back - soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and are named so it's easy to select a type of room. We had the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jabberwock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jabberwock Inn

Address: 598 Laine St, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jabberwock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This craftsman-style home awaits you, gardens entice you, rooms overlook the bay, some with fireplaces and Jacuzzis, down comforters snuggle you in, and faint sounds of sea lions bark you to sleep. Imagine awaking to hints of breakfast wafting up the stairwell, 5 o'clock wine and nibblers, cookies and milk at bedtime. Imagine...Walking to the Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman Wharf or biking along 17-Mile Drive, browsing Carmel shops. Imagine...Falling into the rabbit hole and finding The Jabberwock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Jabberwock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jabberwock Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jabberwock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.