We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Fish

Crystal Fish
514 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1423
831-649-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 267 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great deal for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My friends and I had the bento box lunch, which we thought was a great deal for $10. The portions were larger than expected and the food was delicious. We had a mix of sashimi, cooked food, and sushi rolls and all of them great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    64
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The food was good and so was the service! If you are craving for decent Japanese cuisine while in Monterrey, go to Crystal Fish. I was there around 2pm for late lunch on a Friday and lucky to get a table. When I returned at 8pm planning to have dinner, there was a long line stretching outside the restaurant. It was a chilly night and we did not want to wait in the cold.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“GREAT place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My mom and I went on a Thursday night and it was packed (get there early). The sushi was amazing which more than made up for the wait! My favorite was the Green Salmon roll, spicy and delicious! Definitely a must go while in Monterey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“OMG - GO for Great Sushi at Great Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by the concierge at the hotel. On weeknights they take reservations - so we (family of 4) made one while unpacking and walked over. GREAT and FRESH sushi. Classic rolls and awesome specialty rolls and super reasonable prices for anywhere - let alone dowtown Monterrey, The blue fin tuna was outstanding. We liked it so much we went back 2 nights later! Only problem is that they do not take reservations on weekends - so had a bit of a wait - but well worth it. Other great choice is a pitcher of draft Asahi for like $8. If you are in the cannery area GO! They are also open for lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great sushi! Good prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

A short wait if you don't have reses...I was craving sushi and was happily pleased by the time I left. This place is BUSY! You know when there's a line out the door it's good sushi! Great selection of fish, also cooked japanese food. I sat at the bar, friendly staff, great service! I'll be back...until then.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Fish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Crystal Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.