We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Fish

Crystal Fish
514 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1423
18316493474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 281 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had an early evening dinner and were very pleased that the food lived up to its reputation.
The restaurant need a bit of updating with tired wall colours and fading carpet but don't let this put you off as the food makes up for this in spades!we had the 7 piece sushi dinner and a salad and extra eel , miso soup and another salad - all very good but we had to carry-out the remainder as it was too much to eat for us in one go. Good value for money , pleasant service and highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HampshireMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sashimi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

While visiting Monterey bay aquarium we had a craving for sushi. Found crystal fish to be rated high. Surprisingly awesome. Nice oysters election of 3. Kumamoto oysters were great. Sashimi was great, chu toro, and blue fin tuna were delicious, firecracker roll was good, average place with above average sushi. Would def come back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BimmerNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a very tasty dinner at Crystal Fish. They did their best to accommodate our allergies and we were able to eat without anyone breaking out in hives or getting a migraine. Our waitress was fabulous, attentive and brought a list of our allergies to the chefs. They are kid friendly too. Of course, if your child is not used to restaurant dining and can't sit still, it would not work well as this is not a very large restaurant. The sushi was fresh and delicious. They have some beautiful, creative and tasty rolls.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeedaBeach916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get the Bento Box!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Bento Box is a great value! It allows you to get the miso soup, rice and salad, which are all delicious, and then two or three choices from a list of sushi, sashimi, and other entrees. The presentation of the Bento Box is beautiful. We got the sweet potato roll, spicy tuna roll, fire cracker roll and sashimi. The sweet potato roll was outstanding; we would definitely get it again! We spent the day at the Monterey Bay Aquarium and this was a nice walk from the aquarium. We were seated quickly and our waiter was very attentive. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a fabulous Sushi place and the concierge highly recommended this little hole in the wall. The decor is nothing to look at but the staff is friendly. The food was great, and the portions large. Even at lunch on a Saturday the place was packed.
If you are spending time in Monterey make time to stop here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aMcConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Fish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Crystal Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing