We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest Sushi I've ever had...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Fish

Crystal Fish
514 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1423
831-649-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 225 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
lmpoc
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Freshest Sushi I've ever had...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a hole in the wall local establishment that is busy and there's a few reasons:

1. They serve EXCELLENT FRESH SUSHI and it's not pretencious or pricey.

2. Relaxed, comfortable setting and very friendly and accomodating staff. Truly thier pleasure to serve you as customers! (other restaurant owners should go there to learn!)

I had toro to die for. It was literally the best thing I ever put in my mouth. OMG, I should have gotten a double order now that I am writing this review. It was like tuna butter in your mouth.

And the best part, our bill for three people with splitting a large beer, and 4 rolls, toro, and a few sushi was only $70.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    64
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a wide variety of sushi and all was delicious! Great location, less crowded than at the Wharf. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Monterey!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place has the best sushi in Monterey! It's an easy walk from the Monterey Plaza and so yummy! Go early or be prepared to wait for a table, but so worth the wait.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good sushi place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good sushi place, a little pricey but given the location I think that's to be expected. On a Saturday night this place was packed, but we didn't wait too long for a table. I had the sushi dinner (CA roll with 7 chef-selected nigiri) and liked every piece. It is pretty crowded with tables pretty close to each other. Service was good but not great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Incredible sushi / local spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My daughter had the spicy tuna roll and loved it. I ordered the sesame chicken - it was the BEST sesame chicken I have ever had... plus, the serving size was enormous! It is a little local spot that apparently gets pretty busy during the dinner rush... we went early (traveling with toddler) and had no problem getting a table. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and easily walked there - very close. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Monterey.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Fish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Crystal Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.