We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Fish

Crystal Fish
514 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1423
831-649-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 259 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a wide variety of sushi and all was delicious! Great location, less crowded than at the Wharf. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    59
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Monterey!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place has the best sushi in Monterey! It's an easy walk from the Monterey Plaza and so yummy! Go early or be prepared to wait for a table, but so worth the wait.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good sushi place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good sushi place, a little pricey but given the location I think that's to be expected. On a Saturday night this place was packed, but we didn't wait too long for a table. I had the sushi dinner (CA roll with 7 chef-selected nigiri) and liked every piece. It is pretty crowded with tables pretty close to each other. Service was good but not great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Incredible sushi / local spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My daughter had the spicy tuna roll and loved it. I ordered the sesame chicken - it was the BEST sesame chicken I have ever had... plus, the serving size was enormous! It is a little local spot that apparently gets pretty busy during the dinner rush... we went early (traveling with toddler) and had no problem getting a table. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and easily walked there - very close. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Monterey.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Real sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The sushi here was second to none. The crowds and 30 minute wait attest to thie fact that this is some of the most authentic sushi in Monterey. If you have a chance, GO HERE FOR DINNER - you won't be sorry.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Fish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Crystal Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.