We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi. Nice vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Fish

Crystal Fish
514 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1423
831-649-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 261 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great sushi. Nice vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nice surprise away from the really touristy vibe. Really good fresh sushi

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    59
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lived up to the expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

If you love sushi this is a must. We went with our two children and ate at the sushi bar. They were very accommodating by splitting all our orders for our kids. They even split the dishes for my wife and I because we were sitting at opposite ends of the bar. We had two of the maki sushi rolls which were excellent! Some of the best we have had and we eat sushi at least once a month. Our kids split a combo meal which included some veggie rolls, teriyaki steak, rice, soup and salad. All excellent. Its a short walk to Cannery Row from there if you wish. We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in a Laid Back Locals-Type Restaurant Away from Cannery Row Scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We love Monterey, and we always stay on Cannery Row, but often--even in the so-called off-season, the scene at the Cannery Row restaurants is a bit much (e.g., crowds, elevated prices, unruly children). Unfortunately, our annual trip to Monterey seems to always coincide with Bistro Moulin's post-Labor Day vacation, so we have yet to eat at this restaurant that so many have raved about. This most recent trip was no different, and, finding Bistro Moulin closed, we decided to look for a laid back option and Crystal Fish seemed like it might fit the bill. When we arrived it was busy with non-touristas, and we had to wait a few minutes for a table to clear. Once we were seated, the service was spot on, and we were impressed with the menu, especially the daily specials. Miyagi oysters followed by sashimi (sustainably-sourced yellowtail) and then on to local squid and sweet shrimp. A couple of imaginative rolls such as the Mahalo Roll (yellowtail with asparagus and cucumber topped with mango sauce and Macademia nuts) and the Big Ryan Roll (shrimp tempura, spicy tuna, avocado topped with albacore hamachi) rounded out our first Crystal Fish experience...it won't be our last!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“arrive early or be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Incredibly good sushi just a block away from Cannery Row.
Be prepared to wait a while due to its popularity but not for too long due to the highly efficient chefs and waiting staff.
Really good value for money and no need to dress up either.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I are big sushi fans and we went with several friends to Crystal fish based upon several recommendations. The food and atmosphere did not disappoint! We went on a Saturday night and went early since they do not take reservations on the weekend. We ended up waiting 30 minutes for a table for 6 which wasn't too bad. The only slight negative of the night was that it took our server 10 minutes to come to our table to greet us and take our drink orders. The table ordered many different kinds of rolls and all were excellent. The sushi was fresh and extremely tasty. The prices were very reasonable and I highly recommend the place. my only word of advice is to get there either late or early on the weekend to avoid the crowd!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Fish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Crystal Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.