We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannery Row” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cannery Row

Cannery Row
Cannery Row & Wave Streets, Monterey, CA 93940
831-649-6690
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cannery Row like an insider
Private Tour
$200*
and up
Private Tour: Monterey Coastal Sights by Bike
Ranked #14 of 98 things to do in Monterey
Activities: Dining, Shopping, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cannery Row is the Central Coast’s premiere visitor destination. Home to some of the most luxurious hotels, world-class restaurants, boutiques & galleries, spas, premium wine tasting & exciting recreation Monterey has to offer, including the best nightlife. Walk everywhere. The breathtaking coastline of the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary is the backdrop for every Cannery Row experience. Parking is never a problem, and everything is within walking distance.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cannery Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hire a bike and cycle Monterey, flat and easy to ride with great views of the ocean. Finish off in the aquarium.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    514
    356
    106
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lots of fun shops and restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fun to spend a few hours browsing through the shops. Beautiful scenery! Aquarium is at one end of Cannery Row.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Mixed bag of good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The great part of cannery row is the location on the water, history of California it portrays, and the restaurants. The bad part is that all the shopping is cheesy souvenir shops with tacky shirts and magnets.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great restaurants, with the expected selection of cute stores”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

There were a few really nice shops in Cannery Row, but you can also expect the usual assortment of souvenir shops and activity vendors. We had a great dinner at the Fish Hopper and a nice lunch at Louie Linguini's. Frankly, Bubba Gump's and the Chart House seemed out of place in an area aiming for a unique experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“What Can You Say...but WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Though we were in Monterey and the weather was a bit cloudy and blustery our day was wonderful. Actually I think the weather added to our fun. We walked the Monterey Pier and found some neat little shops and eateries along our way. By the time I reached the end of the pier I believe I had sampled clam chowder from all of the eateries - AND they all were amazingingly tasty! We took the "old style" trolley (free) in to Cannery Row and found a ton of shops and sights to visit. A great walking adventure! One of our highlights was stopping at Carmel Ridge Winery's Tasting Shop. All of the wine offerings were delightful and we left with a wonderful Chardonnay and a very bold Syrah. Our guide through the tasting was very helpful and knowledgeable regarding the vineyard's line. For Garlic Lover's was another neat place - everything garlic - getting hungry? We stopped at the Blabbabooth in the center of the shopping pier and had some colorful memories captured for laughs in years to come. So many stores and it was nice to see so many people and everyone was - so friendly. We ate at Bubba Gump's (our original choice was The Sardine Factory but they were not open). It must have been a bad day as the service was slow and the food was so so. When we return we will definitely get to The sardine Factory. Great adventure for couples especially - young or old.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannery Row also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannery Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.