We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ocean Comes Alive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Aquarium

Monterey Bay Aquarium
886 Cannery Row at David Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
831-648-4888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission
Ranked #2 of 44 Attractions in Monterey
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the ocean's edge, the Monterey Bay Aquarium is a window to marine life -- for dive masters and non-swimmers alike. It's home to sea otters, penguins, sharks, jellies and thousands of other marine animals and plants. Its mission is to inspire conservation of the oceans.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Ocean Comes Alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium on Friday, February 14, 2014. What a wonderful experience. The variety of marine life and interactive exhibits attract old and young alike. If you are truly young at heart - you will delight in the antics of the penguins and the sea otters. You will be mesmerized at the colors and variety in the jellyfish exhibit.
Yes it was crowded and yes it was pricey - but if you love Marine life, love watching the delight on children's faces as they discover a world many can only dream of - then it's well worth it!!!
I've been to several aquariums over the years - this is definitely the best.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,636
    1,071
    329
    82
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place is great! Love the set-up. Lots of room to view the various tanks. The highlights are the many tanks of jellyfish! Who know there were so many kinds! And dark blue? The area around the aquarium has many interesting shops and restaurants, too. Wish I had had more time to spend here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Aquarium I've ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This Aquarium was the priciest but was also the best I've visited. This place is geared towards children and lots of opportunities to interact with the sea life. If you are going to make the trip all the way to Monterey, I would set aside some time and money and visit this aquarium.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Wonders of Under the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I've been to many aquariums across the world and this is by far the most entertaining, most value-for-your-money and most memorable experience of all. A MUST see when you're in the area. You can spend the whole day in Cannery Row and spend half a day at the Aquarium. I would go in the morning, then get a hand stamp to leave so you can go get lunch in Cannery Row then come back in to finish up your visit. Buy your tickets at AAA if you are a member to save even more, otherwise, if you have a Student's ID you save $5. Your hotel concierge usually has deals as well.

The staff is super friendly and helpful, the facility has really nice features, a great variety of oceanic creatures, the educational value is unmatched. My favorites: The Great White Shark show in the auditorium, the Jelly Fish feature, the wave tunnel, the outdoor scenery, the Cafe, the Deep Ocean section and the historical Cannery Row installation,

If I have a child (or when I have one) I WILL take him/her to this aquarium pronto!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive and Crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I made the mistake of going on a Saturday. Every exhibit was stacked four rows deep full of people trying to see stuff. The place isn't that big and only really has four interesting things: sea otters, penguins, the hammerhead shark tank, and a traveling exhibit - this time it was jellyfish. That's it! For $40, it is too pricey for what you get. I would have been better off paying someone to kick me in the shin for $20. There must have been 10,000 people that rolled through the doors that day. I wonder what they do with the millions of dollars they make every week.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Bay Aquarium also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Monterey Bay Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.