We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for All Ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Aquarium

Monterey Bay Aquarium
886 Cannery Row at David Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
831-648-4888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission
Ranked #2 of 44 Attractions in Monterey
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the ocean's edge, the Monterey Bay Aquarium is a window to marine life -- for dive masters and non-swimmers alike. It's home to sea otters, penguins, sharks, jellies and thousands of other marine animals and plants. Its mission is to inspire conservation of the oceans.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Boston
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great for All Ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the couple hours we spent at the aquarium. We have seen penguins and sea otters being fed before so we didn't go to those areas when the rest of the mob did. This opened up lots of other exhibits to view easily. The best part for us was the giant octopus whose was bright red and very active when we were there. This was really fun to watch but it can be very hard with pictures because you can't use a flash. The other great exhibit was the puffins. It's mating season so they were very active swimming and flying around and generally being cute and goofy. This exhibit again can be difficult to photograph in the lower light with as much movement as they do. The jellies exhibit was also impressive and against the blue background the colors were impressive. These were great for photos! We skipped most of the interactive areas that are really meant for kids, so I think we spent about 1.5 - 2 hours total at the aquarium. Overall a must do if you are visiting Monterey.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,641
    1,073
    329
    82
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful! One of the most outstanding aquariums I have ever seen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My family loves to go to zoos, museums, and aquariums. We go to these sights in every city we visit. This one is outstanding! My favorite part was the seahorse exhibit. I had no idea there were so many different varieties. We also enjoyed the view from the walkway outside the aquarium. We watched as a mother otter fed her baby fish for dinner. If you are in Monterey, be sure to go to this aquarium. It is very crowded on weekends so try to go during the week.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, ID
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed but still a nice attraction!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've wanted to visit the aquarium my entire life. Maybe it was too much of a build up but I was disappointed. Although it was a weekday morning in very early June, the aquarium was completely crowded which made it very difficult to enjoy our visit. I signed up for the text alerts when we arrived and that helped us to see a few attractions while the crowds went to the scheduled feedings (we still caught the otter and sardine feedings with the crowds). Overall the visit only took us - 2 adults moving at a steady pace - about 1.5 hrs starting at about 10:30 am.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

As former beach bums now living in a desert, it was a wonderful getaway to visit the aquarium. We purchased two-day tickets for the coat of normal admission through our hotel and put them to use! Loved the exhibits and scheduled feedings. As an educator, I kinda wanted more info from the signs.

We also did their Family Tour. While fun, it was not much tour for the money. And I don't know that it was as geared for young kids as they say it to be.

Overall, absolutely refreshing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We love the aquarium!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'd only go on a weekday during the off-season, otherwise get ready for noisy crowds! But we always come up during a week in November, and it's not too crowded at all. Last time we did a behind the scenes tour which was really cool, it was the "Feeding Frenzy" tour. We got to come in an hour before the Aquarium opened and walked around behind the scenes and got to help feed several of the animals (the bat rays were my favorite! They suck the prawns right out of your hands, it's so weird!) You don't get to do any of the big animals tho, so don't expect a penguin to sit on your lap or anything like that...it's more like throwing krill into the sardine tank, but it was fun).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Bay Aquarium also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Monterey Bay Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.