We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home School Invite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Aquarium

Monterey Bay Aquarium
886 Cannery Row at David Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
831-648-4888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission
Ranked #2 of 44 Attractions in Monterey
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the ocean's edge, the Monterey Bay Aquarium is a window to marine life -- for dive masters and non-swimmers alike. It's home to sea otters, penguins, sharks, jellies and thousands of other marine animals and plants. Its mission is to inspire conservation of the oceans.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lincoln, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home School Invite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We attended Monterey Aquarium on a Monday through Home School invitation. We haven't been to the Aquarium in several years and the Seahorse and Jellyfish Exhibits were unbelievable and outstanding. Observing the Pelican Feeding was so educating and listening to the children's questions they inquired about the birds made it more enjoyable. The staff at the Aquarium were so helpful and we were allowed to go outside to eat and return. Overall attendance was on the low size, so it made for a very enjoyable visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,621
    1,068
    328
    82
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Aquarium in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have been to aquariums all over the US and this is by far my favorite!! It is located at the end of Historic Canary Row (The one John Steinbeck wrote about) in an old canary building. They focus on marine life in Monterey Bay and have some of the best conservation efforts I've ever seen. All their exhibits are as natural as they can make them. My personal favorite is the Kelp Forest, but all are amazing. I was so glad when I was able to move close to Monterey and didn't hesitate to become a member. I live only 20 minutes from Monterey and take my 14 month old there at least once a month. I never get tired of going there. This is a MUST for any one going to Monterey!

For any of you Trekies out there this is the aquarium they used in Star Trek IV The Voyage Home.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Every time I've visited the aquarium I learn so much about ocean life and shore birds. Always astounded by how miraculous the sea world truly is. And I really appreciate the efforts of the Seafood Watch program that helps people decide what seafood is sustainably harvested/caught.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A little pricey but definitely worth the time spent. I took my 15 year old daughter and she enjoyed it as much as we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Come every year and never tire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I get as excited as the kids each year we come to the aquarium. They get you through the lines quickly and it is well spread out to allow the crowds to move through. The seahorse and jellyfish exhibits are breathtaking every time. There are so many ways to engage the little ones and older ones. You can also leave to have lunch, take a break and return at your leisure.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Bay Aquarium also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Monterey Bay Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.