We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Edmonton, AB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We only got to stay one night at this hotel, unfortunately the night we stayed there was a weather warning and so the open ocean deck was closed down. Which is unfortunate for the ocean deck is open to all guests and has 2 fire pits with great views of the ocean. No better way to end the night with a nice coffee or glass of wine while sitting by the fire listening to the waves crash below you.

Our room was excellent, very large king room with a fireplace, reading chair, and very large bathroom with a soaker tub and separate shower. We were even greeted by an otter mama and her baby on our bed.

The location of this hotel is right in the tourist cannery row. Lots of great little shops and restaurants, Bubba Gump right out side the front door, as well as Starbucks across the street. We ate our one night at the Fishhopper, great food and great patio right on the water.

I don't know if I'd pay full price for this hotel, but we got a great rate with priceline.

Be sure to check out the 17 mile drive while in Monterrey, some of the most incredible views of the California coast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    404
    83
    32
    24
See reviews for
534
808
63
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Great hotel staff was very attentive, beutiful Hotel and scenery

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

My overall experience was good. I booked a junior suite for 2 nights, we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a terasse suite when we checked in. Room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. People next to us also had kids we did not hear anything. We order food from the restaurant, with mixed results. See food was good ,but the steak was way to dry.

I am only giving a 4 stars because of the view. I booked a junior suite for a panoramic view "overlooking the Monterey bay". You are actually overlooking the patio and have a view of the bay only if you look at certain angle. You are in the inside of the coutryard and still see other people rooms.

The only way to guaranteed an ocean front view and only have the ocean in front of view is to book a Luxury suite. They also have 6 deluxe king bed with fireplace room that are on the ocean front but you can not book them in advance . They are assign at the moment of checking only, so you you are taking a gamble there.

If you still want the cannery row feeling with the view without paying 800$ a night, the Spindrift is the place to go. We also stay at the Monterey Bay inn in the past , they also have some very nice rooms that are directly on the bay, they are just 5 minutes walk from the aquarium.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I had a few "Free nights" for a long stay at a Holiday Inn brand hotel. The frequent traveler program with Holiday Inn is the same as Intercontinental. That is great I got to use my free nights here that I earned for a work stay in a 2 star Holiday Inn.
This hotel is much more modern that I was expecting but not a cold feeling as many. We had a ocean-view room which was really nice. We stayed there for a mini-honeymoon and let the hotel know on the online reservation that this was the case. The concierge sent up chocolate dipped strawberries. Very nice touch.
Over all this is a great hotel in a very nice location (right next to the aquarium) but is normally very expensive. The nightly rate for the room we had on a Monday night was $300. Is it worth it, I would say for a short stay yes but if you are staying more that one night or on the weekend you might want to look else where.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

The Clement is a great addition to a huge tourist area right on Cannery Row and just feet away from the awesome Monterey Aquarium!
The hotel is modern and beige in hue. My room was modern and angular with all the modern amenities, good amount of closet and drawer space, and a terrace that looked out onto the Buba Gump's across the way. The public space like the lounge is very slick including a fireplace, a prismatic jellyfish of light, a boardwalk/deck with a couple fire pits and heat lamps on the ocean front. This is a hotel I would definitely return to if I were to visit the area again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Stopped in while out cycling the beautiful coastal bike path, as I heard well-executed acoustic classic rock coming from the lounge. Impulsively decided on an early supper here, and was glad I did. The artichoke fritter was especially yummy, as was their Scheid merlot. And the mealtime covers by local musician Bryan Diamond were indeed a pleasant surprise--classic songs masterfully delivered. Very comfortable lounge, fun company of international guests in a warm, friendly atmosphere. What a great bike path stop!

And to make it even better, bicycle valet parking was graciously provided. See "Tips for Tourists Bicycling Monterey" at my personal blog if you'd like more reasons why the Clement and other places along the bike path can contribute to making cycling an awesome way to experience the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We were only able to stay at this hotel for 1 night, but it was a wonderful stay. First of all, the location on Cannery Row is very convenient to the aquarium, restaurants, etc. in Monterey. We were able to park our car at the hotel, and then walk everywhere we wanted to go. Secondly, the service was excellent! Everyone that we encountered from the valet, front desk, and concierge were eager to help make our stay memorable. They were even willing to offer a late checkout for Priority Club members. We were fortunate to receive a room upgrade to a junior suite with an ocean view. It was very spacious and comfortable. The entire property was very clean. Even if you don't have an ocean view from your room, the hotel has a great area to sit and view the ocean. Overall, our experience at this hotel was very positive. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.