We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
San Clemente, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel located in the center of Cannery Row. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The real orchids added a wonderful touch. All of the in-room amenities were more than expected. We looked out over the courtyard with shops and restaurants, which I thought may be noisy, but was pleasantly surprised that it was not. We also could see the water from our room. We had a great night walking around the area. We would definitely book this hotel again while staying in Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear DianeAshby, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us, and had time to explore the surrounding historical area. I hope we will see you again soon!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    427
    86
    32
    25
See reviews for
551
858
64
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The location is great and is close to the aquarium, restaurants and other shops but the pool was laughable and a big disappointment to our kids. The water in Monterey is pretty cold and it would have been nice to have a decent pool to swim in. It was a lap pool that would accommodate one swimmer. The rooms were nice and comfortable and the beds were decent but we would probably look elsewhere next time given the price.

Room Tip: Most room are partial view, which means in the building across the street with shops and restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear MikeG, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I am pleased you chose to visit us, but regret our pool facility did not fully meet your expectations. I hope you will visit Monterey again soon, and best wishes in your future travels.
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Clement is definitely a luxury property with amazing service throughout the hotel. Hotel is situated right at Cannery Row, however must admit Cannery Row itself not as charming as we recall from previous visits (way to touristy). But Intercontinental stands out in the middle of this tourist trap.
Rooms are super and spacious, very comfortable beds, beautiful bathroom etc.
As mentioned the level of service was extraordinary, and that goes for all employees (valet parking, reception, concierge and cleaning).
There is a nice courtyard facing the sea, which gives you the opportunity to relax and enjoy the beautiful view. We didn’t make use of the hotel restaurant, so can’t comment on the quality, but looked really nice.
The Clement is highly recommended when visiting Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear mollerCopenhagen, Thank you for visiting us, and I am delighted to hear you found our associates friendly and helpful. I am pleased you enjoyed our Pacific View Courtyard overlooking Monterey Bay. I hope we will see you again soon!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Let me first begin with, there is absolutely NO WAY in hell this is a four star hotel.

I reserved a Jr suite, ocean view room ($700 a night for 2 nights), w/ the breakfast package for my wife and my infant daughter. For that price, I was extremely disappointed.. Not only because of the the bogus "ocean view" that they sell, but our room REEKED of mildew and had multiple stains on the carpet. It was so bad that I had to open the balcony door to let fresh air in. If you're expecting a nice quiet scenic view, no need to read any further. The balcony opens up to an atrium where loud and drunk individuals have absolutely no class what-so-ever.

Due to the fact that we drove two hours in traffic, we were trying to make the best of the situation. I politely called down to the front desk to explain our situation. They sent up an individual who used a deodorizer spray to rid the room of the smell. My wife and I didn't feel comfortable staying in the room with our infant, so we decided to go to Bubba Gumps restaurant. Great place by the way. After returning from dinner, our room now reeked of mildew and lysol.

I'm not the type to cause scenes lol, so I had to calm/prep my wife prior to going to downstairs to speak with a supervisor. He (Cody) was very apologetic about the situation, not to mention we were very cordial and understanding due to the circumstances. He stated that he couldn't give us an equivalent room, and no upgrades were available. We explained that this type of customer service was totally unacceptable and that we demanded a full refund (1763.00). They assured us of the refund (still pending two days later) and apologized for the inconvenience. We left the same night we checked in. They did offer to book us a room at another hotel (who wants to risk another terrible experience RIGHT at baby's bedtime?) and gave us our breakfast vouchers which we left right there at the front desk due to our complete disgust at the establishment.

Room Tip: Room #314 SUCKS! Smells like dirty old socks and mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear BJspraggins, Thank you for sharing your experiences, and I regret that you could not complete your planned stay. While we were unable to duplicate your observations regarding the guest room, we respect the fact that it did not meet your needs. Very best wishes in your future travels.
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed for two nights whilst travelling between San Francisco and LA. Hotel is ideally located at the centre of cannery row along the water front. Staff we're very polite and professional. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable with good size en suite. Very good restaurant with a lovely outside area with heaters, great for drinks into the late evening. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful property for our 20th anniversary.
We had a ocean view balcony suite.
It was absolutely perfect.
Real bonsai trees , orchids decorated the room, Fire place and a pair of binoculars to
watch the sea otters play in the kelp beds.

It was expensive but worth every penny.
The aquarium is latterly next door and a lot of great restaurants within walking distance.

The valet was very prompt and professional.
The staff 100% on the ball.
We enjoyed our stay to the fullest.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then you might want to wear earplugs if you have a ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear KG4MXV, Happy Anniversary, and I am pleased you chose to spend this special occasion with us! I am pleased you found our associates to be prompt and professional, and that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we will see you again for your next anniversary!
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

from the moment we pulled into the valet... everything was perfect.. Staff was fabulous... I wouldn't change a thing... Beautiful sitting area in courtyard with fire pits and view of the bay. View from rooms was great...Rooms with balcony look out onto water (to watch seals) or of cute little shop area. Both were perfect. Hotel rooms and lobby were beautiful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.