We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Price for the View and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Lincoln, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the Price for the View and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First time I've stayed at the IC Clement Hotel. Gorgeous room. As a platinum IHG member, I was upgraded to a room with a view. The room had a fireplace, huge garden tub, large rain shower and sat over the Monterey Bay. The staff was nice and accomodating to everthing.

We had dessert at the hotel restaurant, sitting outside about 10pm. They had the gas heaters on and it was an unusually warm night to be able to do so. Tim had the Sundae Special Dessert. 4 different scoops of ice cream, including a pistachio like scoop with different toppings. I had the triple chocolate cake, which turned out to be three small pieces of different chocolate cakes and not a triple chocolate layer cake. Coffee was excellent and topped off the evening wonderfully.

Almost must thank the girls in the SPA! We had a couples massage and it was just what the doctor ordered. Would love to hire them permanently, (don't I wish I had that kind of money,) to do the massage every day. A little pricier than I would normally pay, but the location warrants the extra cash.

Must say, this was a nice luxurious spree for a change and we enjoyed every second of it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    405
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
539
820
64
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Things they do well. Great staff, lovely rooms. Great location. Things that need improving. Breakfast is expensive the cooked section of the buffet is particularly poor quality. I would suggest that the cooked items should be ordered and cooked fresh with the buffet being restricted to cold items only which were of excellent quality. In future we would still stay there but would opt out if breakfast. The staff are marvellous from the valet parking staff, to reception to the servers in the restaurant they are all helpful, pleasant and go out of their way to give good service. The location is great with a free tram service just outside and the Aquarium a few minutes away at the end of the street. Give it a try

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block ensure that if you are travelling as a family reserving more than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleview, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights. The room was very nice it was a suite. If you can get room 401 take it the views from this room are awesome. We slept with the window open and could hear the water crashing on the rocks below. There were binoculars in the room which was a nice touch. The people here were very nice and helpful. I went to the spa and it was clean and very nice. We enjoyed our stay here again it is so close to everything.

Room Tip: If you can get room 401 it has a awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Good location in Monterey - Cannery Row is a bit kitschy so we generally stayed away, but it is within a block's walk of the Aquarium, which our kids loved (we had the aquarium package). The hotel itself has kind of an odd layout, 2 buildings on 2 city blocks connected by a skybridge. Would definitely recommend an ocean view in the building closest to the water - it's fun to watch the otters and seals. Bring binoculars. Rooms are decent, somewhat plain and impersonal in decor, but fairly quiet despite lots of families. There was a stain on one of our pillowcases, and they leave a stuffed otter on the bed for kids (it's the same one you purchase from the aquarium and you have to purchase one from the hotel if you want to keep it). The pool is a tiny strip that resembles a fountain - not much in the way of seating or space. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Overall a nice hotel but nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear CYMIN2014, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I hope you enjoyed your time in Monterey, and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We drove down from San Francisco to Los Angeles staying at 4 places on the way and this hotel definitely took first place.
The staff were unfailingly helpful and polite throughout, the room very spacious especially the beautifully appointed bathroom and the location perfect, being right in the middle of Cannery Row. There were fantastic sea views (even though we weren't right overlooking the sea) and lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance.
Even though we had to pay for parking, it was well worth the money to have a valet drive it away after unloading the bags and return it to reception when needed.
There was plenty of room for the 4 of us in the room and helpful having a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.... and also the most comfortable beds possible!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear CornwallRose, I am pleased to hear you found our associates to be helpful and polite, and enjoyed your family's visit with us. I hope we will see you again soon!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

One night stop...lovely hotel. Super reception and concierge. Room modern, spacious and well equipped. Bathroom particularly nice...so much so that took photos!

Well laced on Cannery Row for exploring and drive to Fisherman's Wharf for whale watching next day.

Only downside was pricing in restaurant....didn't bother with the $16 omelette for breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Nigel L, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and I am delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope we will see you again soon!
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We arrived for one night, ordered 3 rooms with connected doors.
We arrived at 3, only one room was ready.
The front desk was not accommodating at all and kept on telling me that check in time is 4. I was pretty upset and then she said:" thank you for being an ambassador member" which was completely ironic.

Sebastian who gave us excellent service last time we were their, came over, we were so happy to see him and asked for him to take care of us which he did very. He was super helpful and flexible and we got our rooms immediately ( one room was not connected which was fine with us).

Too bad that good service in this hotel is hit or miss.

Excellent location, ok restaurant.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.