We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

One night stop...lovely hotel. Super reception and concierge. Room modern, spacious and well equipped. Bathroom particularly nice...so much so that took photos!

Well laced on Cannery Row for exploring and drive to Fisherman's Wharf for whale watching next day.

Only downside was pricing in restaurant....didn't bother with the $16 omelette for breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Nigel L, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and I am delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope we will see you again soon!
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    474
    96
    37
    26
See reviews for
604
961
68
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We arrived for one night, ordered 3 rooms with connected doors.
We arrived at 3, only one room was ready.
The front desk was not accommodating at all and kept on telling me that check in time is 4. I was pretty upset and then she said:" thank you for being an ambassador member" which was completely ironic.

Sebastian who gave us excellent service last time we were their, came over, we were so happy to see him and asked for him to take care of us which he did very. He was super helpful and flexible and we got our rooms immediately ( one room was not connected which was fine with us).

Too bad that good service in this hotel is hit or miss.

Excellent location, ok restaurant.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very impressed with this hotel. The room was large, modern, and comfortable. The bathroom in particular was pretty luxurious. Right next to the aquarium so well placed on Cannery Row. The staff were really helpful especially on arrival. The only negative was the parking. Chose to self park and naively thought that it would be complementary for hotel guests. It wasn't- so we had an unexpected $40+ charge at checkout.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear colint1, I am pleased that you stayed with us during your recent visit to Monterey, and enjoyed your guest room. Please do not wait too long to return!
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The InterContinental is provides great location and service. We held a business meeting during the week and the hotel took good care of us - the meeting room was comfortable, the food good, and the staff attentive and responsive to our needs and requests. The location next to the aquarium is convenient for sightseeing during a break or walking to a restaurant for dinner. If you proceed past the aquarium, there is a path along Pacific Grove for walking, running or just enjoying the view of the ocean. The room was large, comfortable, and quiet. I would come back for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Upon check in we were early, so the girl at the front desk decided to lecture my 50 year old husband on "standard industry check in policies", LOL, really?
Beware! these high prices don't get you much, except a parking structure view and a "bourbon street" atmosphere outside packed full of tourist that are there for the drink and food specials up and down the block.
If your looking for upscale class and sophistication, go to Carmel.
I was not impressed with the hotel, our room was lacking little details like shampoo, the numbers on the outside of the doors were chipped off (3rd floor),
the wall paper was peeling away from the wall. where's the hotel manager? doesn't he inspect this place?
the location is yes right there next to the water, but all the birds poop all over the building canopies, you see it all over the place and the street business owners don't spend the money to clean it off the buildings, I was surprised.
Then the valet stole our sunglasses. So nice!
We regret going to this place.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a ocean view. don't assume $500 - $700 a night is a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear livinggood32, Thank you for being our guest. I regret that we were unable to meet your expectations during your visit; I have discussed the issues with my management team. I hope you will visit our area again in the future, and best wishes for your future travels.
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I thought I had booked this hotel for two nights. Upon arrival I found out that I completely messed up the reservations. They did not have our reservation and they could not accommodate us that night. Cody the front desk manager was so nice and helpful, he referred us to another hotel down the street and promised to get us in for the next night.

We finally got to check in here the next night and was pointed to our room. I did not realize that there were guest rooms across the street. It was quite a hike up to floor two, across the sky bridge that goes over the street, then up another floor then all the way to the second to last room on that floor. It turns out that our room had a view right into the parking garage.

The room itself was fine, nothing special and quite colorless. The room had fine amenities, but nothing special. The bathroom had a shower and a separate tub. The shower was very small and the water pressure was very weak.

We did use the pool and hot tub. The whole pool and hot tub area was very small, but the fact that they had it available was a nice touch.

We did not eat at the restaurant or use the spa here. If you were to book a room here make sure to book a bay front room or at least a street view, either would be better than a parking garage view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear kfoley, Thank you for visiting us, and I am pleased we were able to assist you with a reservations mix-up. I hope we will see you again soon.
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Be careful this hotel requires a 2 night minimum stay on weekends. They will not budge. I had a free night certificate which was valid at any IC but i couldn't use it at this hotel because of the 2 night min policy. Customer service is not important at IHG and especially this IC property.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Ryan B, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do regret that we were unable to accommodate your preferred dates of stay. I hope we will see you soon in Monterey.
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.